Skip to content

Meyer lemon chess pie

March 18, 2012
tags: , ,

Meyer Lemon Chess Pie

Oh my gosh, I am so in love with this pie.  I can’t even begin to tell you how completely and wonderfully delicious it was.  I ate my first slice, glanced over at Jim still eating his first slice, and could not resist going back for slice #2.  It is seriously one of the best pies I’ve ever had.  So good, in fact, that after slice #2, I called my mom to tell her all about it.

I was lucky enough to have found Meyer lemons at my grocery store for the first time EVER, but average run-of-the-mill lemons would be just fine.  Personally, I think the amount of sugar in this recipe would suit regular lemons better than it did the Meyer lemons, since Meyer lemons aren’t as tart.  So my advice would be to try this pie with any lemons you can get your hands on.  The sooner the better.  You will be very, very glad you did.  Maybe you’ll even call your mom.

{one year ago:  sliders in under a minute}
{two years ago:  dessert tacos}
{three years ago:  lentil taco meat}

Recipe:  Meyer Lemon Chess Pie

(from Shockingly Delicious)

1 9-inch prepared (uncooked) pie shell
1 Tbsp. cornmeal
1 Tbsp. flour
Pinch of kosher salt
1 1/2 c. sugar
2 tsp. grated zest (from 2 Meyer lemons)
4 eggs
1/4 c. half and half or whole milk
4 Tbsp. melted butter
1/4 c. Meyer lemon juice

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  In a bowl, mix cornmeal, flour, salt, sugar and grated zest.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each egg.  Add half and half, butter and lemon juice and stir well.  Mixture will appear to thicken slightly.  Pour into prepared pie shell.  Bake on bottom shelf of oven (so it is closer to the heating element) for 35-40 minutes.  Center will be slightly jiggly when it is done.  Remove from oven and cool on a rack.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2012 5:30 pm

    Sounds delicious! I’ve seen recipes for chess pie popping up here and there in the past few years, but I’ve never actually made one. I’ve got some (non-Meyer) lemons sitting in my fridge right now that need to be used soon. I’ll have to give this a try Thanks for sharing! :)

  2. March 26, 2012 7:29 pm

    Pinned this so I can find it easily when I have time to make it. Hope it’s soon, it looks fabulous! Hope you don’t mind. :)

  3. April 2, 2012 7:56 pm

    I’ve been crazy about lemons ever since my first pregnancy (?!?), so this looks wonderful. I wish I had a slice right now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers