Skip to content

Best mosquito bite remedy ever

May 25, 2012

When mosquitos look at my kids, I think they see little targets everywhere.  One evening outside means days of itchy welts.  Big golf ball kinds of welts!  I go through a lot of Benadryl every summer because it’s been the only thing that gives them any relief, but I have found a better, safer, cheaper way to get rid of that itch.  Soap!  Just rub a bar of dry soap over a mosquito bite and feel better instantly.  Seriously!

Claudia’s poor little legs were covered with mosquito bites that were even keeping her awake at night.  The anti-itch creams weren’t working for long, and giving her Benadryl during the school day just wasn’t practical, so I turned to my old friend Google.  A quick search led me to TipNut, where I found the perfect remedy to make my sweet girl feel better.  A plain old bar of soap!  And it works!

 

 

36 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2012 8:15 am

    Good tip!

  2. Jennifer permalink
    May 27, 2012 11:13 am

    What kind of soap? Like the cheap bars you get from a hotel?

  3. nikki permalink
    May 27, 2012 5:41 pm

    Rubbing alcohol/hand sanitizer if applied ASAP will soothe the bite and make it almost non existent. I live in Louisiana. I will try the soap, as well. Thx!

  4. May 29, 2012 10:47 am

    Random, but it’s a good tip. I’ve lived in Florida for most of my life and I didn’t know that.

  5. Tracy permalink
    May 29, 2012 1:18 pm

    We spend as much time at the cottage as possible. This is most definitely going to ease the itchies at bedtime.. mostly for me!!

  6. carmen permalink
    May 29, 2012 10:10 pm

    it worked for me!

  7. one ordinary day permalink*
    May 30, 2012 6:56 pm

    Jennifer – I just used whichever soap we had in the house at the time. I don’t think it makes a difference which brand you use. And it really does work! :)
    ~ Michelle

  8. sterling permalink
    June 1, 2012 4:58 pm

    What do u do with the soap?

  9. one ordinary day permalink*
    June 2, 2012 6:41 am

    Sterling – Couldn’t be easier… just rub a bar of dry soap right over the mosquito bite and it stops itching!
    ~ Michelle

  10. June 4, 2012 8:41 am

    Will be trying this tip for sure. They really eat my little girl alive!

  11. June 12, 2012 11:33 pm

    Thank goodness I live in the nice dry desert… no mosquitos here! Although I wish I had known this back when I lived in the Everglades…

  12. Jodie permalink
    June 14, 2012 4:19 pm

    I’m heading for Alaska, and you can believe I’ll be carrying a small hotel bar of soap in my purse! The mosqitos in Alaska are supposed to be horrible!

  13. Ina permalink
    June 15, 2012 10:44 pm

    Thanks for the tip! It works! Smells good too, Olay soap!!

  14. June 20, 2012 11:56 pm

    Wish we would have seen this tip earlier today! We were doing some picking in an old barn and got eaten up badly. I’ll keep a bar of soap in my pocket on our next trip :) Thanks!

  15. Sarah T permalink
    July 10, 2012 9:28 pm

    Does it work for chigger bites too?

  16. Lyn permalink
    July 13, 2012 7:40 am

    Every night when I water my garden, I come back in with at least 5 bites. I swear they love me! Going to try this now before I lose my mind and my skin! lol

  17. Jami permalink
    July 17, 2012 1:29 pm

    RUBBING DEORDORANT ON THEM HELPS TOO!

  18. oneordinaryday permalink*
    July 19, 2012 7:53 am

    Sarah – I’m sorry, but I really have no idea if it works on other bites. Good luck finding something!!
    ~ Michelle

  19. NCBamaGirl permalink
    July 25, 2012 9:36 pm

    Tried this but it didn’t work for me, maybe because my bites were already a couple of days old?

  20. August 4, 2012 7:13 pm

    This is so great to know! If a mosquito is in the area, they always get me and not just once…the other day I had 5 bites in one minute, and next time I am really going to try this! Thank you for posting it, so helpful! :)

  21. August 27, 2012 8:46 pm

    Hi there, You have performed a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and in my view suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  22. Louise permalink
    October 7, 2012 12:10 pm

    ammonia does the trick as well

  23. Wanda Liliedahl permalink
    October 17, 2012 11:44 pm

    Wonder if it will work on bull nettle stings. I too live in LA and NOTHING worked, alcohol, ammonia, cortizone-10, benedril spray, ….and nothing took down the swelling. After 3 days, it quieted, but then, had to open the red spots with a pin and tweeze out the nettle in order to relieve the itching. If that happens again, I’ll use soap, but, after I put tape over the site and pull it off to remove nettles, then rub the soap on, wet or dry? Okay, I’ll do both!

  24. October 26, 2012 10:21 pm

    Just tried it with a bar of Irish Spring. Didn’t work. Anyone know if it is a particular soap?

  25. oneordinaryday permalink*
    October 27, 2012 7:09 am

    Sandra – we use Oil of Olay bars of soap. I have no idea if it matters which brand of soap. We just had that one and it worked like a charm for us.
    ~ Michelle

  26. Randal Mann permalink
    January 22, 2013 4:01 pm

    Mosquito have a hatred for Avon Skin So Soft lotion or Bath Oil!

  27. tiffany miller permalink
    February 15, 2013 7:40 pm

    does the soap need to be wet or dry?

  28. oneordinaryday permalink*
    February 16, 2013 2:32 pm

    Tiffany – We used just a dry bar of soap and were so surprised to find that it worked great.
    ~Michelle

  29. Sarah permalink
    July 29, 2013 1:22 pm

    Didn’t work at all for us, so either it depends on the brand of soap or doesn’t work for everyone.

  30. poohntigger0675@yahoo.com permalink
    August 18, 2013 7:40 am

    My son and I get eaten up badly and I got this tip of yours on Pintrest and tried it this morning and it also did not work for me and I also used Irish Spring. So it must have something to do with the type of soap or just doesn’t work for everyone.

  31. August 23, 2013 8:36 pm

    15 minutes feeding chickens, used repellant, got 10 bites anyway,,,tried rubbing alcohol, then cortaid,,,then tried the soap (dove) and antibiotic cream with benzocain and at last some relief! Thank you!!!!

  32. September 11, 2013 8:55 pm

    Works for me! Lever 2000 dry bar … I’m a regular buffet for the little buggers!

  33. September 26, 2013 9:35 am

    Goooooooooooooooooood tip!

  34. Sheep rules ohh yea permalink
    September 26, 2013 9:36 am

    goood tip!

Trackbacks

  1. A Mom's Year » Weekend Links / Happy Father’s Day
  2. Soap as a Mosquito Bite Remedy « Practice What You Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers