Skip to content

Lentil and roasted carrot salad

July 21, 2012
tags: ,

Lentil and Roasted Carrot Salad

Since starting this blog, I’ve happily discovered that there are a lot of foods I’d never tried before that I really love.  Reading other food blogs and cooking a variety of foods in my own kitchen have introduced me to a larger, more delicious world.  One of my favorite finds is lentils.  They’re loaded with protein, vitamins, fiber, and are just a generally healthy food to add to your diet.  They’re also versatile enough that you can work them into your meal plans in many ways.  I use them primarily in soups and stews, but I also make a “refried bean” substitute that can replace meat in taco dishes.  Adding a side salad to the list of great lentil dishes was a no-brainer.

I served this as a side when we cooked out on the grill, so I didn’t even turn the oven on.  Instead of roasting my carrots and onions, I grilled them, and got the same great flavors without heating up the kitchen.  This was a nice addition to our meal and one I’ll definitely make again.

Recipe:  Lentil and Roasted Carrot Salad

(slightly adapted from Daily Bites)

3/4 cup green lentils, rinsed and drained*
1/2 pound carrots, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil, divided
Kosher salt and black pepper, to taste
1/4 cup finely chopped onion
1/4 cup finely chopped flat-leaf parsley
1/4 cup sunflower seeds, lightly toasted
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon granulated garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon paprika

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Place the lentils in a medium pot and cover by several inches with water. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 20-25 minutes until the lentils are tender to bite but not falling apart. Drain well and transfer to a large mixing bowl.

While the lentils cook, roast the carrots and onions: toss the chopped carrots and onions with 2 teaspoons of the olive oil on the lined-baking sheet. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Roast for 15-20 minutes until tender and shriveled.

Add the vegetables to the cooked lentils. Gently stir in the parsley, sunflower seeds, vinegar, garlic powder, paprika, and the remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve warm or at room temperature.

*Ingredient note: Pick over your lentils before rinsing to remove any small stones or other grains that may have found their way into the mix.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2012 5:29 pm

    This looks delicious and healthy. Thanks for sharing the recipe…I can’t wait to try it!

  2. July 22, 2012 12:23 am

    This looks great! Lentils are one of my favorite healthy foods! I love your posts!

  3. August 2, 2012 8:35 am

    nice blog.

  4. August 11, 2012 7:31 pm

    I can almost taste this.

  5. August 20, 2012 12:19 pm

    I have been looking for a new lentil recipe that makes me salivate. Found one!!!!!

    Erin – ekcantcook.blogspot.com

  6. asterh permalink
    April 29, 2013 11:02 am

    This looks delicious and so nutritious! Can’t wait to try it! http://chicorganicmama.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers