Skip to content

Avalanche bars

September 8, 2012

Avalanche Bars

Have you ever looked around at all the varieties of rice krispie treat desserts there are out there?  I really think you could create a blog just totally about those and not run out of ideas for years.  These avalanche bars are a take on the classic that I hadn’t seen before, so I wanted to give them a try for the kids on the first day of school.

Warning:  You absolutely must like white chocolate chips or you aren’t going to enjoy these.  Personally, I’m not a fan.  White chocolate – real white chocolate – is fine with me, but vanilla flavored morsels are just not my cup of tea.  However, they’re a main ingredient here and I figured I wasn’t the one who was going to eat them, so I made them anyway.  Were they ever sweet!!  So much so, in fact, that (shock of shocks) my kids didn’t really even care for them.  Crazy, I know, since Claudia has an exceptionally active sweet tooth.

Take my “review” for what it’s worth.  I love the idea of mixing up the traditional rice krispie treats, but I’m going to stick to some of the other recipes I’ve found out there in the blogsphere.  Have you tried cake batter rice krispie treats yet?  They’re definitely on our “keeper” list!

Recipe:  Avalanche Bars

(from Cookies and Cups)

12 oz. bag of White Chocolate Chips
1/4 c. creamy peanut butter
3 c. Rice Krispies cereal
1 1/2 c. mini marshmallows
1/4 c.mini chocolate chips + 2 Tbsp. for garnish

Lightly grease a 9×9 pan.  In a microwave-safe bowl, pour in white chips and heat on 50% power for 1 minute.  Stir and continue to heat in 30 second increments until chips are melted.  Stir in the peanut butter until combined.  Add krispies and mix.  Allow to cool 15-20 minutes.  Add the marshmallows and mini chocolate chips.  Stir to combine.  Transfer mixture to prepared pan and spread evenly; pressing lightly with the back of your spoon.  Press remaining chocolate chips into the top for garnish.  When completely cooled, cut into bars.  (I found that I had to refrigerate them to firm them up enough to cut into bars.)

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracy permalink
    September 8, 2012 1:09 pm

    Um, I ‘pinned’ yer recipe before I saw that you wanted to be asked first (the pin will ‘lead’ them back here) sorry, I’ll notify you first before I do it again ……………………….. ( I’m with you, these look ‘uber’ sweet), but I’ll ‘test’ them on our HS volleyball team soon ( they tend to be my guinea pigs ;))

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 8, 2012 1:15 pm

    Tracy – Pin away! :) I just want to be asked before someone lifts my photos for other sites. Pinterest is ok!
    Thanks and enjoy,
    Michelle

  3. September 19, 2012 1:42 am

    I have never seen anything like this – these look absolutely incredible!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers