Skip to content

Pumpkin coffee cake

October 9, 2012

Pumpkin Coffee Cake

My Claudia was really hesitant to try this cake because it’s called a “coffee cake.”  She was sure there would have to be some coffee in there somewhere.  She makes a good point.  I don’t know where the name really comes from, but I told her whenever people want to have cake for breakfast, they just call it a coffee cake, and for some reason it becomes socially acceptable.  Go figure.

My first impression of this particular coffee cake wasn’t terribly enthusiastic.  I did eat it while I drank my morning coffee, but I thought it was a little lackluster.  Kind of dry and nothing special.  But because I believe in second chances, I decided to give it a look the next day.  It was so much better the second time around!  It became moist and wonderful and brought all the flavors of pumpkin pie to the table.  I’m considering it my belated welcome to Fall.

Recipe:  Pumpkin Coffee Cake

(slightly adapted from Recipe Girl)

Cake:
1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated white sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 large eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup Greek yogurt (or sour cream)
One (16 ounce) can unsweetened pumpkin puree
1 large slightly beaten egg
1/3 cup granulated white sugar
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Streusel:
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup butter, softened slightly
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts, optional

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Spray a 9×13-inch pan with nonstick spray.

Prepare cake:  Use an electric mixer to cream together the butter, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl; add eggs and beat well.  In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and baking soda.  Mix dry ingredients into the butter mixture half at a time, alternating with half of the Greek yogurt.  In another bowl, combine pumpkin, egg, 1/3 cup sugar, and pie spice.  Keep separate.

Prepare topping:  Mix the topping ingredients together with fork, hands, or pastry cutter until crumbly.  Set aside.

Spoon half of the batter mixture into the prepared pan.  Sprinkle half of the streusel topping over the batter.  Spread the pumpkin mixture over the streusel.  Carefully spread the remaining batter over the pumpkin mixture. Sprinkle remaining streusel on top.  Bake 45 to 50 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2012 6:44 pm

    One of the unfortunate things about fall is that I’m not crazy about pumpkin but wow don’t you make it look good! I’m definitely saving this recipe for my next function. Thanks for sharing! :)

  2. October 9, 2012 7:54 pm

    Yum! It’s true – coffee cake is always better on day two.

  3. October 15, 2012 1:53 am

    ..I love pumpkin and so does my little dude, and this looks super yummy! ..on my list to bake for this week! ..loving so many of your recipes and are one of my fave food blogs! Thank you..

  4. July 22, 2013 9:59 pm

    Great blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?

    There are so many choices out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Bless you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers