Skip to content

Pork carnitas rice bowl

October 6, 2013
tags: , ,

Pork Carnitas Rice Bowl

Ever since my first visit to Chipotle, it’s become my favorite place to eat out.  It’s a good thing it’s not too local for me or I’d want to go on a weekly basis.  Since I can’t, I’ve had to figure out how to bring those flavors into my own kitchen instead.  Jim actually says this version is far better than Chipotle’s.  It’s definitely nice to be able to eat the leftovers for a day or two.

The pork literally falls apart after cooking in the crock pot while we’re at work, and I really take a shortcut with the rice, so it’s a quick and easy weeknight meal.  Ever seen those microwaveable bags of rice?  You can buy brown rice that cooks in 90 seconds.  I make a couple bags of that, add some minced red onion, lime juice from one whole lime, some salt and pepper to taste, and a handful of chopped fresh cilantro and I’ve got a tasty base to start our rice bowls.  Next, we add the pork, some shredded lettuce, fresh tomato salsa, corn salsa (I follow this recipe exactly and it’s perfect), guacamole, greek yogurt (or sour cream), and some chopped chives or green onions on top.  Jim adds (rinsed, canned) black beans to his too.  I’m craving a rice bowl just writing about it.  That’s how good it is.

Recipe:  Pork Carnitas
(adapted from Shared Appetite)

8-10 lb. pork shoulder (bone in) or 6-8 lb boneless pork shoulder
2 Tbsp. canola oil
2 tsp. chili powder
2 bay leaves
1/2 tsp. cumin
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped
kosher salt

Cut the pork shoulder into big chunks and rub with kosher salt.  In a large pot, heat oil over medium-high heat and add pork pieces.  Turn to brown on all sides.  Once pork is browned, transfer pieces to crock pot.  Add 1 cup of water to the pan and stir to scrape up the brown bits in the bottom.  Add the rest of the ingredients along with a good pinch of kosher salt.  Stir to combine.  Pour mixture over the pork in the crock pot.  Cook on low heat for 8-10 hours.  When pork is cooked, shred with 2 forks and return to sauce in the crock pot until ready to serve.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2013 11:11 pm

    Twinsies! I posted a copycat Qdoba burrito bowl today! Haha!

    Love your version! :)

  2. Denise permalink
    October 25, 2013 8:19 pm

    A friend of mine told me about your blog and also “Cooking With Mr. C.” on Facebook. (also a blog) I just “Liked” his Facebook page and just came to see your blog. I’m so happy that people are sharing blogs. Denise

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers