Skip to content

DIY instant oatmeal

October 29, 2013

Homemade Instant Oatmeal

We all know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, right?  In my family, mornings are very often busy and chaotic, so squeezing breakfast in is sometimes a challenge.  I’m great at making sure the kids get something good in their bellies before they head out the door, but I’m not always as conscience of getting my own day going in a healthy way.  This homemade instant oatmeal has been a perfect solution for me.  I absolutely love it and the flexibility of being able to add-in anything I’m in the mood for keeps it from getting boring.  It takes just a couple minutes to mix everything up and transfer it to a big container, and then I have breakfast at my fingertips.  Once you taste the difference, you’ll never go back to those store-bought packets again.

Recipe:  DIY Instant Oatmeal

(adapted from One Good Thing by Jillee)

10 cups old-fashioned rolled oats, divided
1 cup non-dairy powdered creamer
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar  (If you prefer a sweeter bowl of oatmeal, you can use more sugar to suit your taste.)
2 tsp. kosher salt

Place 8 cups of old-fashioned rolled oats to a large bowl.  In a blender, blend 2 cups of oats until powdery, then add to the other oats.  Stir in powdered creamer, brown sugar, and salt until well mixed.  Transfer to large container for storage.

To make a bowl of oatmeal, scoop 1/2 cup of the instant oatmeal mixture into a bowl.  Heat 3/4 cup of water to boiling (I use the microwave.) and pour over oatmeal.  Let oatmeal sit for 1-2 minutes.  Add whatever dried fruits and/or nuts you enjoy.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 19, 2013 2:01 pm

    I’m just catching up on my blog reading, but this is such a genius recipe! I’ve tried some other versions, but they needed to be microwaved and the water always boils over and causes a disgusting mess in the office microwave. This looks great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers