Skip to content

Bacon chocolate chip cookies

December 11, 2013

bacon choc chip cookiesBacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

The whole chocolate-covered bacon thing has been pretty popular on the boardwalk the past couple summers.  I hadn’t tried it until my nephew shared some with me during a visit to a local flea market.  (Hi, Owen!!)  That combination of salty and sweet is a big draw, and chocolate-covered bacon gives you the best of both of those worlds.  So how about in cookie form?

The bacon flavor is subtle in these cookies, but if you’d like it to have more of a presence, just add more crumbled bacon than I did.  I’ll probably bump it up a bit if I make them again.  I’m also curious how they’d taste with a hickory smoked bacon.  I bet that would be good – salty, sweet, and smokey.  I’ve never had a smokey taste in a cookie before, but I’m game to try it!

Recipe:  Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

(recipe found at Food, Fun & Life)

3/4 c. (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
1/4 c. bacon fat  (After you cook your crispy bacon, drain the fat into a glass and pop it into the refrigerator until it cools.)
1 c. packed light brown sugar
1/2 c. granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 t. baking soda
1 t. vanilla
2  1/4 c. flour
1 1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips
8-10 oz. bacon, cooked until crispy  (1/2 – 3/4 cups of crumbled bacon)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Mix butter, bacon fat, brown sugar, and granulated sugar in a large mixing bowl until fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time and beat after each addition.  Add baking soda and mix well.  Mix in vanilla, then add flour and mix until combined.  Stir in crumbled bacon and chocolate chips.  Bake for 8 minutes.  Allow to cool slightly on cookie sheet before transferring to wire rack to cool completely.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2013 4:13 pm

    Bacon AND chocolate? I’ll have to try them before I judge!

  2. February 14, 2014 11:57 am

    I love chocolate covered bacon so these have got to be awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers