Skip to content

Coffee and Chocolate Sandwich Cookies

January 3, 2009

I’m just a little annoyed by the growing baking section of our blog.  The fact is, I don’t bake (maybe the occasional birthday cake) and I NEVER cook. Thus,  my sister’s infinite and miraculous ability in this area is somewhat difficult to bear.

I’m reminded of when I was six and she could play the “Indian Song” on the piano- I could not.  Didn’t everyone just love the “Indian Song”.  At any rate, though I happily lend my palate to taste test her creations, I shall not be outdone by this newest version of the “Indian Song.”  I think I’ll counter with Childrens’ Crafts and Projects…do I hear the distance beating of an Indian drum?

– Bea

____________________________________________________

(Note to Bea…. Shut your pie hole.)

Well, I did do some baking with my daughter yesterday.  We made some little chocolate cookies, and because she is a 4-year-old chocoholic, we also added some chocolate frosting to make sandwich cookies.  She was in her glory with her little red apron and rolling pin and chocolate everywhere.   She actually called me “Cooking Mama” the whole time we were in the kitchen together.  Anyway, today I was hoping for a more grown-up version of a sandwich cookie and remembered printing out this recipe for Coffee and Chocolate Sandwich Cookies (courtesy of Baked).

The cookies themselves turned out well – nice and dark and chocolaty.   I rolled mine a bit thinner than it called for and shortened the baking time.  Now, the coffee buttercream is a whole different story – it did not go so well.  My biggest mistake there was not asking J. to go to the store for the second time in 15 minutes to fetch some whole milk.  All I had on hand was skim and though it did thicken up some, it sure didn’t look like your average buttercream icing.  I also substituted the espresso powder for strong brewed coffee, since we didn’t have that either.  One might wonder why I chose a recipe without making sure I had the ingredients first, right?  Well, I thought I was up for the challenge… and I was feeling delusional.

In the end, the cookies are pretty and taste fine, but they are overwhelmingly chocolate and not nearly enough coffee.  Basically, when you bite into it, the buttercream squirts out the other side and you miss half the taste.  I think I’d try them again, but first I’d make sure I had EVERYTHING I needed.  One other thing I’d change is using my tried and true recipe for buttercream instead of their’s.  I don’t typically cook my buttercream on the stovetop – mine is a much quicker recipe of confectioner’s sugar, butter, vanilla, and milk – and in this case, some strong brewed coffee.  Let me know if you try the recipe…

– Shellimg_01272img_01322

Coffee and Chocolate Sandwich Cookie

Recipe:  Coffee and Chocolate Sandwich Cookie

Cookies:

1 1/2 sticks (6 oz.) unsalted butter, softened

3/4 c. confectioner’s sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

3/4 c. cocoa powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

Beat the butter and confectioner’s sugar at low speed until smooth.  Beat in egg and vanilla, then beat in cocoa powder and salt.  Add flour and beat until combined.

Form the cookie dough into a disk, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for an hour.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

On a lightly floured surface, roll disk of chilled dough to 1/2 inch thickness.  Using a round biscuit cutter to make cookie cut-outs.  Transfer to baking sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until set.   Transfer to wire rack and cool.

Coffee Buttercream:

2 Tbsp. espresso powder

1 Tbsp. hot water

1 1/2 c. sugar

1/3 c. flour

1 1/2 c. milk

1/3 c. heavy cream

3 sticks unsalted butter, softened but still cool, cut into small cubes

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Combine espresso powder and hot water; set aside.  Whisk together sugar and flour in heavy-bottomed saucepan.  Add milk and cream and place over medium heat, whisking occasionally until mixture comes to a boil and has thickened, about 20 minutes.

Pour mixture through a fine mesh strainer into mixing bowl.  Beat on high speed until cool.  Reduce speed to low and add butter; mix until well incorporated.  Increase speed to medium-high and mix until frosting is light and fluffy.  Add vanilla and espresso mixture and continue mixing until combined.  If frosting is too soft, chill slightly and remix to proper consistency.

Add a bit of coffee buttercream between two chocolate cookies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

