Skip to content

The sandwich cookie eludes me…

January 5, 2009

img_0140Gingersnaps with Orange-Ginger Cream Filling

Okay, after my not-so-ecstatic response to the sandwich cookies I made the other day and a great perfectionist’s need to try again, I found this recipe at Oprah.  I had all the ingredients except for the molasses, but I knew I had dark corn syrup in the pantry and that would be a good substitute.  The cookies are light in color – they’d probably have been darker if I had used molasses.  This recipe couldn’t be simpler to make, but I didn’t account for the cookies spreading so much (even after being chilled for more than 30 minutes), so the first batch was pretty crowded together.   And I’ll just admit it – pretty ugly once I cut them apart.  The first batch also stuck to the pan, even though the recipe says to use an ungreased cookie sheet.  The rest of the batches were baked on parchment paper and spaced further apart.  I went for a softer texture and only baked them for 9 minutes.

The entire house smells amazing!  The cookies are very yummy and the icing is a great compliment.  Definitely a cookie that requires a glass of cold milk.  I did find that the icing didn’t taste as orange as I wanted, so I added an additional 1/2 tsp. of orange zest.  I used dried, but I think it would have been perfect if I had used fresh.

Here’s J.’s review: “Oh.  Those are really good.  You have to get rid of them.”  (explanation… he’s trying hard to lose weight and that definitely translates as a good review)

-Shell

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2009 9:30 am

    Yay! So happy to see you here on line!
    Any chance you’ll post any SB or other craft projects?

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 6, 2009 12:13 pm

    I’m sure we’ll be posting crafts – my sister especially, because she’s sick of seeing all my baking stuff. : )
    I’ll post some SB things now and then too, I promise.

Leave a Reply

