Skip to content

A bad day for me

January 13, 2009
tags:

How many cats like to sit on the edge of the tub during bath time?  My Scout Finch loved watching my daughter take her bath.  She only tried to climb in with her one time – after that she just watched and waited for the water to drain to take a quick drink.  She was a sweet, mischievous little cat.  She passed away unexpectedly early this morning and my heart is broken.  I was never a big fan of cats, but two years ago, Boo Radley showed up on my doorstep and converted me.  Last January, my daughter decided Boo needed a friend, so we went to a shelter and fell head over heels for a little gray and white kitten.  We brought her home and named her Scout Finch.  (Seeing a name trend here?)  I took Scout to the vet yesterday and they performed exploratory surgery last night.  They found that she had eaten a piece of thread  that caused complications in her intestines.  We thought she was going to pull through, but she didn’t.  I loved this little cat like crazy and her absence has left a hole in our family.  Bea, Dani and my mom think we need to go find us a kitten – the sooner the better.  Someone needs all that love we gave Scout Finch.  My kids think so too, so we’ll see.  Today was not an ordinary day for me.  It was a really bad one.

– Shell

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle permalink
    January 14, 2009 2:02 pm

    I am so, so sorry!! I’m teary just reading this…I know how much Scout meant to your family. Animals provide such unconditional love that how can we not return it; they become part of our family whether we intend for them to or not. And yes, of course, I am on the side of your family. Maybe not this week, but in time. Not to replace Scout, but because in my mind no family is complete without some furry critters beside you along the way. Maybe Jem or Harper for this next one?

  2. Dani permalink
    January 18, 2009 2:16 pm

    I am thrilled that you decided to welcome another kitten to your family. Knowing from past experiences with a puppy that was run over, I how a new cuddle can help you through it. Harper is a sweet little kitten who will never take Scout’s place but welcome the love that she is given.

Leave a Reply

