Skip to content

White chocolate peanut butter cookies

January 16, 2009

Peanut Butter White Chocolate Cookies

[I feel bad posting these pictures today when Bea has been on a liquid diet since Wed.  (Jello and broth just doesn’t compare to these cookies.)  She was admitted to the hospital for gallbladder pain and hasn’t been able to eat real food since she got there.  Don’t worry, Bea, I ate several of these cookies in honor of you.   Anyway, she should be back on her feet and released from the hospital (without the gallbladder) tonight or tomorrow.  So, these cookies are dedicated to you, Bea.]

When I saw a jar of Peanut Butter and Co.’s White Chocolate Wonderful at the grocery store, I knew I wanted to try it in cookie form.  Luckily, Smitten Kitchen had a recipe for peanut butter cookies on her blog that I also wanted to try.  A happy coincidence?  Or me and peanut butter cookies destined to be together.  I’ll go with the destiny version, because these cookies are just what I was looking for.

I made only minor changes to the recipe at Smitten Kitchen.  I used the White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter, 3/4 c. all-purpose flour and 1/2 c. whole wheat flour, plus I substituted white chocolate chips for the semi-sweet chocolate chips.  I also didn’t press my cookies with a fork – I like the bumpy look of the top of the cookie so I left it as is.  It’s a great recipe and makes a really delicious cookie.  Proof: I’ve had to pack half of mine up and freeze them right away because I can’t stop eating them!

– Shell

Recipe: Peanut Butter Cookies        (Smitten Kitchen)

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour  (I used 3/4 c. all-purpose flour, 1/2 c. whole wheat flour)
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup peanut butter at room temperature (I used Peanut Butter and Co.’s White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter)
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup chocolate chips  (I used white chocolate chips)

For sprinkling: 1 tablespoon sugar, regular or superfine

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the flour, the baking soda, the baking powder, and the salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the butter and the peanut butter together until fluffy. Add the sugars and beat until smooth. Add the egg and mix well. Add the milk and the vanilla extract. Add the flour mixture and beat thoroughly. Stir in the peanut butter and chocolate chips. Place sprinkling sugar — the remaining tablespoon — on a plate. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls into the sugar, then onto ungreased cookie sheets, leaving several inches between for expansion. (Eight cookies to a pan worked great.) Using a fork, lightly indent with a crisss-cross pattern, but do not overly flatten cookies. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Do not overbake. Cookies may appear to be underdone, but they are not.

Cool the cookies on the sheets for 1 minute, then remove to a rack to cool completely.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2009 1:32 pm

    Oh yum, these look great!

  2. January 17, 2009 3:35 pm

    well this sounds crazy delicious. BOOKMARKED FOR FUTURE USE – I’ve been looking for an excuse to buy some of those fun sounding peanut butters, looks like I’ve found it!

  3. March 16, 2009 3:17 am

    These are the best peanut butter cookies I’ve ever had. They’re incredibly delicious. Thanks for the great recipe.

Trackbacks

  1. Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

