Skip to content

O-BAM-A

January 22, 2009

Like many of you, I sat glued to my television screen yesterday ready to cry, laugh, clap or scream as each moment passed. To the frequently asked question, “Did you ever think you’d see the day?” I answer a resounding “YES!”

The first time I honestly gave any inkling to the idea of an African-American president was during the 2004 Democratic National Convention. Prior to that it was just an old assumption born of School House Rock snippets over the weekends of my youth. You remember, “where any kid can be the president…”

But on that day, Barack Obama delivered a speech of such magnitude, such insight, such HOPE, that he was catapulted into DNC stardom. To be fair, I didn’t think this would be his year right away, I thought Hillary would come first. But some men have greatness thrust upon them and I’m so glad he did.

We’re looking differently into that horizon now…asking ourselves what part we will play in the building of a new tomorrow. Together we will hoist this president’s dreams and this nations hopes unto our shoulders and lift them high into the light. America will no longer hide behind a cloak of secrets or pretend to protect our safety by sacrificing all that we hold dear…not just our liberties but our friends around the world.

I look forward to the new World we woke up to today and I encourage you all to join me in finding your way to http://www.learnandserve.org/. so we can continue to change our world. –

Now let’s join hands and sing “Kum Ba Ya….”
– Bea

One Comment leave one →
  1. Baba permalink
    March 26, 2013 7:01 am

    Is there a way I can reach you via e-mail, we are building a web app related to food and desperately searching for blogs and people with content such as yours. We don’t steal data and would like to discuss what we are doing get permission and continue coding away…

Leave a Reply

