Skip to content

Peanut Butter Granola Bars

January 30, 2009

Yep, round 2 of granola bars.  This is a recipe I saw at Stephanie’s Kitchen and it had the makings of being a super fast recipe that was totally kid-friendly.  I grabbed a big bag of granola at the store this morning, and Claudia and I tossed these together in just a couple of minutes.  Being the little chocoholic that she is, we decided to add some mini m&ms to the top so the granola bars would look more like the ones she likes out of the box.  I’m going to keep these in the fridge instead of storing them at room temperature because I think the chocolate would get too soft if they weren’t kept chilled.  But, I’ll tell you, these are a tasty little snack.  I added more granola than was in the original recipe, so let your tastes be your guide to just how gooey you want the final bars to be.  Let me know what you think.

– Shell

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Granola Bars

(adapted slightly from Stephanie’s Kitchen)

2 1/2 to 3 cups granola

1/4 cup honey

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1/4 c. mini m&ms

In a bowl, mix together the honey and peanut butter until smooth. Add the granola and mix until well coated. Pat into a 8X8 greased pan and sprinkle chocolate chips on top. Place in a 350 degrees for 2-3 minutes or until chocolate is melted. Smooth out chocolate over the top of the granola.  Sprinkle mini m&ms across the top. Chill until set.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2009 4:52 am

    Ohhh, these look so so good! I am a peanut butter addict, so I will be making these soon. :)

  2. February 2, 2009 3:14 am

    Yum-o! I made granola last week, and still have quite a bit left — I’m going to have to try these tomorrow!

  3. Michelle permalink
    February 2, 2009 2:31 pm

    A must try…Marc needs something he can grab quick for breakfast to eat while traveling. Maybe I’ll skip Claudia’s M&M addition, but who knows maybe that’s what he needs to make his days go better!

Leave a Reply

