Skip to content

Baked Ziti with Sausage

January 31, 2009

Baked Ziti with Sausage

I feel like either my kitchen has taken over this blog or this blog has taken over my kitchen.  I guess either way we’re getting to eat some good food, but when I delay dinner to take a picture of it, that’s kind of crossing a line or something.  Bea suggested taking a picture of Jim and the kids sitting at the table waiting to eat and post that.  I admit, it’d be pretty amusing, but I’ll just stick to trying to show you the food for now.

So, about dinner.  Ali from Divine Domesticity posted about her baked ziti the other day and I gave it a try today.  I used her recipe as a guide, but I halved it so I wouldn’t end up with enough to feed an army if the kids were going to tell me it was revolting.  (I’m not kidding – it wouldn’t be the first time I served them a great meal that Sam declared was “revolting.”  They really don’t like to mix up their tried and true favorites.  How do you get your kids to try new foods??  I guess that’s a topic for another post.)

Actually, we all enjoyed this ziti, though the kids picked around the sausage.  I thought it was a nice change since I typically use ground beef in my sauce dishes.  I strayed from Ali’s recipe in just a couple ways.  First, instead of browning the sausage and onion first, I just put them into the sauce right away and cooked it all together for a little while.  I doctored up the canned sauce with extra basil, oregano, parmesan, chopped onion and garlic, salt and pepper; then added the sausage and cooked it on medium heat for a bit.  By the time the water had boiled and I had the pasta going, the sausage was cooked through and it had flavored the sauce nicely.  I also used penne instead of ziti.  (Just my personal preference – I like the lines on the pasta because I think they grab hold of the sauce.)

I loved the cheesy goodness of this, the extra flavor of the Italian sausage (I used mild), and the short amount of time it took from start to finish.  We also have leftovers to reheat tomorrow, which is a plus.  I’ll definitely be making it again, so thanks, Ali.

– Shell

Recipe:  Baked Ziti with Sausage

1 box of dry tube pasta (ziti or penne)

1 small onion, chopped

1 lb. mild Italian sausage

1 jar of spaghetti sauce (basil, oregano, garlic, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper to taste if you want to doctor it up a little – if not, no biggie – it’s all good)

13 slices of provolone cheese slices (I have no idea how many oz. that is)

1 cup sour cream

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

Pour sauce into 2 qt. pot; add sausage, onion and additional spices/seasonings.  Cook over medium heat until it begins to bubble, then reduce to a simmer and cover.  Heat salted water to a boil in a large pot and follow package directions to cook pasta.  Drain pasta.  Combine sauce and pasta in the large pot.

Spray a 13×9″ baking dish with cooking spray.  Layer your ingredients as follows:

pasta and sauce mixture

sour cream (all of it)

provolone and mozzarella cheeses

more pasta and sauce mixture

more provolone and mozzarella cheeses

grated parmesan cheese

Bake in 350 degree oven for 35-40 minutes until cheese is golden and sauce is bubbling.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 1:41 am

    This looks like a nice and yummy meal! I’m glad you liked the granola bars and thanks for the comment. I edited my post because I forgot to change the part about microwaving in the sugars and PB. I actually heated the mixture over the stove b/c I find that the microwave has a tendency to overdry things.

  2. Jackie permalink
    July 15, 2009 3:46 am

    Hi

    I was wondering can you give me a estimate of how much oregano, basil, garlic, parmesan cheese and salt and pepper you added to the spaghetti sauce.

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:08 am

    Jackie – Most jarred spaghetti sauces already have those seasonings in them, so if you’re using one of those, you could just add a little bit of each for a fresher taste. I usually doctor up huge batches of the stuff and then freeze them, so I can’t give you exact amounts. I never measure them anyway. But no worries if you don’t add anything. The makers of the spaghetti sauce already did it for you.
    ~Michelle

  4. nicole permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:56 am

    can i use one of your sita pictures for my spanish project I’d greatly apprecite it because its the perfect picture for what im describing for spanish -thanks

Leave a Reply

