Skip to content

Super Bowl Sunday

February 2, 2009
tags: ,

What’d you do during the Super Bowl?  Big party?  Lots of good game food?  Raucous cheering?  Me?  Well, I watched Jennifer Hudson sing, then spent the entire first half of the game sitting on the kitchen floor in a sea of broken crayons.

My 4 year old has a bad habit of breaking her crayons.  I guess she likes the crisp “snap” they make or something, but you can find pieces of broken crayons in every room in our house.   Last week I noticed I had 6 foil cupcake liners left from some past baking and, at the time, I thought it’d be a great idea to gather up all the pieces of crayons and melt them together to make big, colorful, chunky crayons.

So, about 6:00 Sunday evening, Claudia and I plunked ourselves down on the kitchen floor and started taking the paper off of all these crayon pieces.  Ugh.  She got frustrated with it really quickly and I ended up on paper-removal-duty while she went around finding more pieces of crayons for me.  I really wanted this to be one of those lessons where I model good “green” behavior for my kids.  You know, instead of buying new crayons all the time, we’ll give a new life to these little pieces instead.  I actually thought they’d both help out.  Well, Sam wanted to watch the Super Bowl and Claudia had more fun rolling the crayons around while the kitten chased them.

I’ll be honest… this was a very annoying project.  You’d think the papers would have come off easily but they didn’t.  I had wax wedged under my nails and I don’t mind whining a little, but it hurt.  I won’t be doing this again no matter how neat it looks to color with these wild crayons.  I’ll buy a new box of crayons next time, but if you really want to make your own, here are the directions.

Chunky Crayons:

Remove the paper wrappers from crayon pieces.  Place the pieces in foil cupcake liners on a baking sheet or in a muffin tin.  Put crayons into oven on 200 degrees for about 15 minutes.  Some brands of crayons melt faster than others, so you’ll have to watch them closely.  Remove from oven and cool.

– Shell

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 3:02 pm

    Hi from Japan.
    I found your website accidentally, and wanted to say thank you so much.
    I am 24 years old, and teaching art to little kids in Japan. my students also love to break their crayons.
    I had no idea what am i supposed to do with them. then i found your great idea. I’ll try to make your colorful, chunky crayons in the next lesson. Thank you for the great idea!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 28, 2010 10:11 am

    Hi, May!
    So happy to hear from you and thank you for your kind words. I hope your kiddos enjoy their new crayons. : )
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

