Skip to content

Valentine’s Day Cake Pops

February 13, 2009

Valentine Cake Pops

I’ll tell you, I am awed by bakerella and her patience every time I make her famous cake pops.  It is a very time-consuming and for me, often frustrating, endevour.   I have yet to make them without running into some sort of candy coating problem.  Much to my kids delight, though, there are usually several “duds” for them to snack on.  (their word, not mine)  Yes, cake pops are always adorable.  Yes, they are mighty delicious.  And yes, they sure do make a great presentation.  But, truly, the time that goes into making them is the real gift.  Claudia took these to school for her friends and teachers today for her Valentine’s Day party and they were a huge hit.

Recipe:  Cake Pops

(thanks to bakerella)

1 box cake mix  (I prefer chocolate cake and frosting)

1 can frosting

Wax paper covered cookie sheet

lollipop sticks

Bake cake as directed to make a 13×9″ cake.  Let cool completely.  I crumble my cake into my food processor and quickly turn it into crumbs with a few pulses.

Move cake crumbs to large bowl and add 1 can of frosting.  Using the back of a big spoon or spatula, thoroughly combine the frosting and crumbs.

Roll mixture into small balls, about 1″.  (The bigger the ball, the more trouble I’ve had with it falling off of the stick during dipping.) Place balls on waxed paper and chill in freezer or fridge until firm.  You should get about 45 cake balls.

Melt candy coating in the microwave following package directions.  Remove the cake balls from the freezer and insert a lollipop stick just about half way into the cake ball – it might help to dip the tip of the lollipop stick into the candy first.  (I’ve found that when I freeze the cake balls, they stay on the stick better but make the candy coating too cold.  I kind of reroll them a little bit as they are just beginning to thaw to just warm up the outside before I dip them.  It might not really help, but I feel like the coating has a better chance of turning out the way I want it to this way.) Dip the cake pop into the candy coating and gently tap to remove any excess.  Place in styrofoam block to dry.  (Follow the package directions again – some say the candy must be refrigerated to achieve it’s shine.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2009 5:51 am

    Your cake balls are HUGE! they look fantastic! When I made mine, they started sliding down the sticks too (until I decided to refrigerate them). There’s something about putting food on a stick that makes it all the more appealing! ;P

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 14, 2009 12:47 pm

    LOL They are only 1″ cake pops, actually. It’s just a close-up picture of my daughter holding them.
    – Shell

  3. February 15, 2009 6:53 am

    What a cute idea! Would be perfect for a little girl’s birthday tea party. Now I just need to find a little girl. :-)

  4. February 15, 2009 3:51 pm

    These look so adorable! I love the pink color and sprinkles! My daughter would love these! What a great photo!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:34 pm

    My kids LOVE the cake pops, but they aren’t the only ones. Who doesn’t like to eat a treat on a stick? It’s fun AND it tastes good! : )
    – Shell

  6. December 3, 2010 12:06 pm

    during valentines day, i always give my girlfriend a very warm hug that she enjoys ‘:`

  7. April 26, 2011 4:43 pm

    This is GREAT!!! I love this idea. I had no idea they were so easy to do. I had some a while ago at Momofuku in NYC and they were amazing, and a bit pricey for what they were. Now that I know how to make them I will be making these for my friends in all sorts of flavor combinations. When I make them I’ll post about them on my blog at TodayIGlow.blogspot.com. Thanks again!

Trackbacks

  1. Valentine’s Day Treats: Cake Pops and Cookie Pops | Craft Jr.
  2. Sweet Monday:-Valentine Pops | Creative Hostess

Leave a Reply

