Skip to content

Cauliflower Cashew Salad

February 17, 2009

Cauliflower Cashew Salad

I cannot get enough of this salad.  It’s quick and easy to toss together, it’d be excellent to take to a picnic or potluck, and it’s also great to have in the fridge.  It’s really quite filling and if you wanted it to be even more of a “stick to your ribs” dish, you could add some cooked chicken.  I also really like it with grape tomatoes added in, but I didn’t think to do that before I took my pictures.  I admit, I’ve eaten a fairly large portion of this 3 times since yesterday.  It’s that good.  I found the inspiration at Pink Bites and changed it a little to suit my tastes.  For one thing, I really dislike celery in a salad – I always opt for carrots instead.  And I took the lazy man’s route by buying a bottle of buttermilk ranch dressing instead of making my own.   I’ve been keeping a container of the veggies and gouda in the fridge, and when we’ve wanted it, it takes only a minute to add the grape tomatoes, a little buttermilk ranch, and a handful of salted cashews.  Give it a toss and enjoy.

Recipe:  Cauliflower Cashew Salad

(adapted from Pink Bites)

1/2 of large head of cauliflower, cut into bite-sized pieces

2 c. frozen peas, thawed

2 c. chopped carrots

2 Tbsp. diced red onion

3/4 c. smoked gouda cheese, cut into small pieces

salted cashews, to taste

grape tomatoes

buttermilk ranch salad dressing

Combine cauliflower, peas, carrots, red onion and gouda cheese in a large bowl.  When ready to serve, add grape tomatoes, cashews and buttermilk ranch to taste.  Toss.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 2:23 pm

    This salad is so colorful and delicious sounding. Of course anything with cashews has to be good!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:33 pm

    I agree about putting nuts in anything, Robin Sue. How can you go wrong there? This is a really great salad and it’s definitely in my “go-to” file now.
    -Shell

  3. February 19, 2009 3:02 am

    This looks so delicious. SO creamy and lots of great flavors going on.

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 19, 2009 12:54 pm

    Thanks, Lori. This is a great combination and I love how easily it comes together. Let me know if you try it.
    – Shell

Leave a Reply

