Skip to content

A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana

February 23, 2009

I just wanted to share this month’s selection for my library book club.  The book is A Girl Named Zippy:  Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana by Haven Kimmel.  This is one of the most charming books I’ve ever read – in fact, I’ve read it twice – once several years ago, and again for book club.  Kimmel writes with a voice of such childish innocence, yet you never feel like it’s forced or gratuitous.  It’s just genuine.  And laugh-out-loud funny!  I’ve also read the follow-up to Zippy, called She Got Up Off the Couch:  And Other Heroic Acts From Mooreland, Indiana. Written in the same style as her first memoir, Kimmel continues to share stories about her childhood.  These books are just plain endearing.  I really think you’d enjoy them both.

***And, in case you’re keeping track, I’m making salted fudge brownies for tonight.  Any excuse to make these again is okay by me!***

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

