Skip to content

Mmmm. Homemade peanut butter!

February 25, 2009

Homemade Honey Roasted Peanut Butter

Okay, inspired by Joy the Baker, I knew I HAD to try my hand at making homemade peanut butter.  It is so unbelievably easy that I can’t believe I’ve never even thought to do it before.  It’s delicious too!  I had the best peanut butter sandwich with this stuff, and I think it would be really good for dipping apples.  (I believe I mentioned my lack of fondness for biting into an apple – this would totally work for me.)  It’s really fast and really good.  Try it and see.

Recipe:  Homemade Peanut Butter

1 1/2 c. honey roasted peanuts

pinch of salt, optional

Place peanuts in bowl of your food processor with the blade attachment.   Process peanuts for about 4 minutes.  You will see them gradually turn to a shiny paste as the oil is released from the peanuts.  (My photo is from about 3 minutes into the process – the peanut butter is just starting to get shiny.)

Store in an airtight container in the fridge.  Microwave for about 30 seconds to soften before serving.  (I also tossed in an extra handful of peanuts after it was smooth and shiny to make some chunky peanut butter.  Awesome!)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 8:58 pm

    Hi,

    I have a quick question. Do you know how long this will keep in the fridge before it will spoil?

    Thanks.
    Piee

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:28 pm

    Piee, I read here that you can keep it in the fridge for up to two months. Mine won’t last more than a couple days though, so I won’t be testing that out. : )
    – Shell

  3. February 25, 2009 11:40 pm

    What a great idea! I have never tackled making my own peanut butter at home, for some reason I didn’t think it would be this easy. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Hanna permalink
    February 26, 2009 2:16 am

    I am not a big fan of honey roasted peanuts on their own but i made this peanut butter just now with a can I had in the pantry and it is DELICIOUS!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 26, 2009 12:12 pm

    Thanks, for posting, Hanna. Isn’t it quick and easy? And delicious!
    – Shell

  6. thebakerbee permalink
    August 2, 2009 5:14 am

    I was inspired by the same Joy the Baker post… mine lasted all of a week before it was gone. Yummy!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipe Round-Up! ~ Feb 21-27 Sugared Ellipses . . .

Leave a Reply

