Skip to content

Lentil Sausage Soup

February 27, 2009

Lentil Sausage Soup

Got your number 2 pencil handy?  You’re about to get the run-down on lentils.  There’ll be a quiz later, so pay attention.

Lentils are legumes rich in protein and are an excellent source of vitamins.  They are low in fat.  They have an abundant supply of B vitamins, especially niacin, which makes lentils particularly beneficial for reducing cholesterol, excessive stress, and promoting general well-being of the nervous system.  They are also a good source of fiber.

So, after all that, why have I never eaten lentils?  There’s simply no good reason, but those days are over.  I picked up a bag of lentils at the store today and thought I’d give them a trial run with a hearty lentil soup.   I’ll tell you, if knowing how good the little lentil is for me wasn’t enough, this soup has definitely turned me into an admirer.  It is delicious and good for me – can’t go wrong with that combination.

I found the original recipe for this soup at Food Network.  It’s an Ina Garten (Barefoot Contessa) recipe, but I altered it a little bit here and there, mainly from necessity due to missing ingredients.  I couldn’t be happier with the outcome though.  I halved the original recipe, too – it still made a soup pot full of hearty soup.  If I was feeding more than just my family, I’d follow the original amounts because I’m sure leftovers wouldn’t hang around the fridge very long.  Paired with a nice loaf of wheat bread, this makes a great meal.

Recipe:  Lentil Sausage Soup

8 oz. lentils, dried

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1 large onion, diced

1/2 Tbsp. garlic, diced

1 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

1/2 tsp. chili powder

1 1/2 c. celery, chopped

1 1/2 c. carrots, chopped

1 1/2 qt. chicken broth

2 Tbsp. tomato paste

1 lb. bulk mild Italian sausage

parmesan cheese, to garnish bowls of soup

In a large bowl, cover the lentils with boiling water and allow to sit for 15 minutes. Drain.

In a large stockpot over medium heat, heat the olive oil and saute the sausage, onions, garlic, salt, pepper, thyme, and chili powder for 20 minutes, or until the vegetables are translucent and tender. Add the celery and carrots and saute for another 10 minutes. Drain any extra fat from cooking the sausage.  Add the chicken stock, tomato paste, and drained lentils, cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer uncovered for 1 hour, or until the lentils are cooked through and tender. Check the seasonings. Serve sprinkled with grated Parmesan.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 10:14 am

    I love all the ingredients, so I am going to love this comforting soup!!! I make lentil soup often!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 2, 2009 11:04 pm

    Sophie – I’ve never even bought lentils before, much less made a soup with them, but we LOVED this!
    – Shell

  3. February 13, 2010 8:54 am

    A really nice blog.

    Greetings DEKLA

  4. February 26, 2013 5:57 am

    I think what you typed made a lot of sense. But, what about this?
    what if you added a little information? I ain’t suggesting your information is not good, however suppose you added a headline to maybe grab people’s attention?
    I mean Lentil Sausage Soup | One Ordinary Day is kinda vanilla.
    You might glance at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create news titles to get viewers interested. You might add a video or a pic or two to get readers interested about everything’ve got to
    say. Just my opinion, it could bring your posts a little bit
    more interesting.

  5. February 26, 2013 7:35 pm

    Hi there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

