Skip to content

My first Daring Baker Challenge! Chocolate valentino cake with strawberry cheesecake ice cream.

February 28, 2009

Chocolate Valentino Cake with Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

Here’s my first Daring Bakers Challenge!  I was so tickled over the whole idea of being a daring baker, and I thought the first recipe challenge would be delicious.  Totally not true though.  In fact, Jim and I each took a bite of the cake and the rest went down the garbage disposal.  What a waste of ingredients!  It looked pretty though. (sheepish grin)

Anyway, let me start at the beginning of this misadventure.  [The February 2009 challenge is hosted by Wendy of WMPE’s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef.  We have chosen a Chocolate Valentino cake by Chef Wan; a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Dharm and a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Wendy as the challenge.]

When I saw how few ingredients were in the recipe for chocolate valentino cake, I thought I’d have it easy for my first challenge.  There was a warning in there somewhere about overbeating egg whites, but I just gave it a cursory glance and went on my merry way.  Well, let me say, if you make this cake – DO NOT OVERBEAT THE EGG WHITES!  My final cake looked so nice coming out of it’s heart shaped pan, but it was too dry to even eat.  It literally crumbled.  It was really quite gross, to tell you the truth.

My saving grace here though, was the ice cream.  That wasn’t a smooth ride either, beginning with the fact that I don’t own an ice cream machine.  David Lebovitz has excellent instructions on how to make ice cream without an ice cream machine, but I was being a rebel.  I thought it’d be fun to get the kids into the action by doing some “ice cream in a can.”  We mixed up some vanilla ice cream, poured it into a small coffee can, put the small can in a larger can surrounded by ice and salt, and proceeded to roll it around the living room for about 15 minutes.  We took the lids off anticipating some creamy ice cream and still had nothing but a mixture of yummy ingredients.  Attempt #2 wasn’t much better, and by now the kids were sick of rolling the can around so Jim and I sat on the floor and rolled it for a while.  Another 20 minutes pass and we take another peek.  Ugh.  Nothing more than a melted milkshake was going on in there.  I gave up on the whole thing and poured it into glasses for the kids to drink and the rest went into a container in the freezer.  (By the way, the next day it was glorious ice cream!)

The next day, I contritely reread the instructions for making ice cream and started again.  This time, I used a wonderful recipe I found at cdkitchen for a cream cheese based ice cream.  It turned out to taste remarkably like strawberry cheescake!  Yum-o!   In between pulling the bowl of ice cream out of the freezer and whipping the heck out of it with my hand-held mixer, I made some strawberry sauce on the stove and cooled it in the fridge.  At the end of the whole process (before the ice cream had the chance to harden up too much), I swirled in some of the strawberry sauce.   It was a great ice cream, and I’ve bookmarked a few other flavors I’d like to try sometime.  It was kind of fun and not difficult at all.  Thank you, David Lebovitz!

I really had fun being a part of the Daring Bakers Challenge, and I’m looking forward with some nervous anticipation to March’s challenge.  It’s cool stepping out of my comfort zone to do something like this, even if it didn’t turn out the way I’d hoped.  Maybe I’ll try it again sometime and carefully, cautiously whip my egg whites.

Recipe:  Chocolate Valentino Cake by Chef Wan

(chosen by Wendy of WMPE’s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef)

16 ounces (1 pound) (454 grams) of semisweet chocolate, roughly chopped

½ cup (1 stick) plus 2 tablespoons (146 grams total) of unsalted butter

5 large eggs separated

Put chocolate and butter in a heatproof bowl and set over a pan of simmering water (the bottom of the bowl should not touch the water) and melt, stirring often.

While your chocolate butter mixture is cooling. Butter your pan and line with a parchment circle then butter the parchment.

Separate the egg yolks from the egg whites and put into two medium/large bowls.  Whip the egg whites in a medium/large grease free bowl until stiff peaks are formed (do not over-whip or the cake will be dry).   With the same beater beat the egg yolks together.   Add the egg yolks to the cooled chocolate.  Fold in 1/3 of the egg whites into the chocolate mixture and follow with remaining 2/3rds. Fold until no white remains without deflating the batter. {link of folding demonstration}

Pour batter into prepared pan, the batter should fill the pan 3/4 of the way full, and bake at 375F/190C

Bake for 25 minutes until an instant read thermometer reads 140F/60C.   Note – If you do not have an instant read thermometer, the top of the cake will look similar to a brownie and a cake tester will appear wet.

Cool cake on a rack for 10 minutes then unmold.

Recipe:  Strawberry Cheesecake Ice Cream

2 eggs – beaten

1 cup sugar

1 cup half-and-half or light cream

8 ounces cream cheese – softened

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 tablespoon vanilla

2 cups whipping cream

1/2 cup strawberry ice cream topping

In a heavy medium-size saucepan, combine eggs, sugar and half-and-half.   Cook and stir over medium heat for about 12 minutes till thickened and bubbly. Cover and chill mixture for 1 hour.   Beat the cream cheese till it’s smooth. Gradually beat in the cooled egg-sugar mixture. Stir in the lemon juice and vanilla. Stir in the whipping cream.   Freeze in a 4- or 5-quart ice cream freezer according to the manufacturer’s directions.   When mixture is frozen, remove the dasher. Stir in the strawberry ice cream topping with a long handled spoon till marbled, but not thoroughly mixed.

Recipe:  Strawberry Ice Cream Topping/Sauce

1 pint strawberries, cleaned and stemmed

1/3 cup white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

Cut about 1/3 of the strawberries in half. In a saucepan over medium high heat, combine strawberries, sugar and vanilla. Cook, stirring occasionally, until sauce thickens, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat. With a potato masher, mash berries to desired consistency.   Store in refrigerator.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 5:32 pm

    Nice take on the challenge… I’ve seen a few different ones, and the strawberry is a flavorful addition.

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 28, 2009 6:37 pm

    Thanks, fancyfortunecookies. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for more success in March though.
    – Shell

  3. March 1, 2009 5:08 pm

    I just discovered your blog & I like it! This looks so yummie:) MMMMM….

  4. March 1, 2009 11:47 pm

    Your debut cake as daring baker looks so scrumptious!!

    Thanks for your comment on my blog anyway..

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 2, 2009 7:27 pm

    Sophie – glad you found us and we hope you keep reading!
    pepsakoy – thanks very much, but boy were looks deceiving this time around. : )
    – Shell

  6. March 3, 2009 3:59 am

    We recently made ice cream that way in my teaching science for elementary students class. Ahh yes, college tuition spent on homemade coffee ice cream : )

    Justine

  7. March 3, 2009 5:23 pm

    It’s too bad the coffee can method didn’t work out but I’m glad your persistance paid off and you finally got an ice cream you liked out of the experience. The swirl of strawberry looks really delicious!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 3, 2009 6:50 pm

    Justine – I remember those days – I have an eled degree too. : )
    Doghillkitchen – Thanks for the encouragement. Both ice creams actually ended up tasting great.
    – Shell

  9. March 7, 2009 2:59 pm

    Welcome to the Daring Bakers. Glad you could still turn the Challenge into a success.

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 9, 2009 7:56 pm

    Andreas – Thanks for the welcome! I’m hoping next month’s challenge won’t throw me any curve balls. : )
    – Shell

Leave a Reply

