Skip to content

Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

March 2, 2009
tags: ,

Today we celebrated Dr. Seuss’s birthday at my house with me reading so many books with Claudia that my throat actually hurts.  : )

We ran through the classics – The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham and more – but my personal favorite (and Claudia’s too) is Horton Hatches the Egg.  I cannot describe how great my love is for this book.  I still have the old battered copy from when we were kids hidden away in my closet.  I had to buy my guys their own copy because mine is so well-loved and tattered.

Check out Seussville with your kids.  It’s full of fun games and activities from all of his great books.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 4:08 am

    My daughter loved The Cat in the Hat it was one of the first books she learned to read. She had three copies of it, one that was her own, one that was the teacher’s, and one from the library that she just kept rechecking out. I’m not certain why she thought she needed three plus my copy that I kept having to steal back but she did. Speaking of my copy I remember being about 6 and sitting outside the grocery store (in NYC) and building a milk box school where I taught one of my brothers to read the cat in the hat. I think really I read it to him so much he actually just memorized it.
    ~ingrid

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 4, 2009 10:45 pm

    We love The Cat in the Hat too, but Sam has always especially loved Green Eggs and Ham. He used to wonder if that’s where we got his name. : )
    – Shell

  3. March 5, 2009 1:49 am

    ohhh yes, we read a few Seuss books as well!

Leave a Reply

