Skip to content

Salted espresso cookies

March 10, 2009

Espresso Cookies

I was looking around the food world for an espresso/coffee type of cookie, but I really wanted one that made good use of some extra salt.  Ever since I tasted Starbuck’s salted caramel hot chocolate, I’ve been hooked on salted desserts.  The combination of salt with chocolate is amazing, so I figured there had to be a recipe somewhere that brought together salt and coffee too.  I stumbled onto chowhound, where someone else was looking for an espresso cookie, and a brilliant baker created this recipe as a result.  It’s actually an adaption of Dorie Greenspan’s World Peace Cookies.

I’ll tell you, these cookies are nothing short of amazing.  I sprinkled some extra kosher salt on the cookies as soon as they came out of the oven and they were sublime.  I say “were” because they’re gone already!   I ate 4 right out of the oven – holy cow, I can’t say enough about how good they were warm!  Jim’s dubbed these the best cookie he’s ever had, and I will definitely be making them again and again.  They have a coffee flavor, but not one that’s overwhelming in any way.   I think even people who aren’t coffee drinkers would enjoy this cookie.

I strayed from the original recipe slightly by using 2 Tbsp. of soy flour and 2 Tbsp. less of all-purpose flour.  (Soy flour naturally boosts the protein and fiber in baked goods.  That 2 Tbsp. gives it a healthy little twist, so I’ve been using it a lot.  You can buy soy flour right in the baking section of the grocery store – it isn’t a specialty item.  It’s also supposed to help keep baked goods from getting stale, but no baked items are ever around here long enough to test that theory.)

Recipe:  Salted Espresso Cookies

1 1/4 c. + 1/3 c. all-purpose flour  (this is to substitute for the cocoa powder in World Peace Cookies)

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 Tbsp. finely ground espresso or coffee beans

11 Tbsp. unsalted butter, room temperature

2/3 c. granulated sugar

1/4 c. brown sugar (if you’ve made Dorie’s cookies, don’t panic – the sugars are switched here)

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. vanilla extract

extra kosher salt for sprinkling on cookies

Sift the flour and baking powder together.  In another bowl, beat the butter until soft and creamy.  Add both sugars, salt, and vanilla and beat for 2 more minutes.  Stir in the sifted flour, baking powder, and the ground espresso until the flour disappears into the dough.  Work the dough as little as possible – it will appear a bit crumbly.

Turn the dough out onto the counter, gather it together and divide it in half.  Shape each half into a log and wrap in its own piece of plastic wrap to refrigerate.  Refrigerate at least 3 hours.  Line two baking sheets

Bake at 325 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 7:58 pm

    That’s funny, I was just thinking last night that I’m addicted to salted espresso caramels that someone brought for me from overseas. And I was thinking, omg, what happens when they will run out?? Now I have my answer – this cookie is what happens. Thanks for the (very timely!) recipe.

  2. March 11, 2009 3:42 pm

    I’ve never heard of this ‘salted’ thing. Or soy flour, for that matter. I’m intrigued. And from the review you gave the cookies, it sounds like something I might have to try!

    I’ll have to try out the flour too… I’m not a big protein person, so any way I can add a little to my diet is good.

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 14, 2009 7:28 pm

    Irene – These cookies sound like they’d be right up your alley! Let me know if you make them….

    Farmer Gal – If you stick around here a while, you’ll likely come across a salted dessert or two. Oooh. I just love them!

    – Shell

  4. January 24, 2010 4:32 pm

    These are great! I did accidentally use baking powder as listed in the description instead of soda as prompted in the recipe, but they still turned out great. A perfect late night coffee companion snack.

Leave a Reply

