Skip to content

Banana bread pancakes

March 11, 2009

Banana Bread Pancakes

I’ve come to realize that there’s a talent to making the perfect pancake and I just don’t have it.  I can do a lot of things in the kitchen, but if someone has a hankering for a pancake, they don’t ask me.  Jim is our go-to guy for pancakes.  I can’t make them to save my life.  You can ask my kids – I am NOT exaggerating.  Here’s a recent example:   Jim was on a trip and the kids ran out of pancakes.  I figured I’d make a batch or two to tide them over until Dad got home, but they got nothing but an ugly pile of half-cooked batter.  I kid you not.  None of this golden round stuff – just a big gob of yuck.

See, in our house, pancakes rule.  There’s barely a day that goes by that our kids don’t have chocolate chip peanut butter pancakes for breakfast.  Jim usually makes 6 batches at a time and freezes them, so all we have to do is pop them in the microwave in the mornings.  The kids LOVE them.  They would rather skip breakfast entirely than eat something else.  Made with wheat flour and peanut butter, we figure it’s a good start to their day.  And who wouldn’t like a little dose of chocolate in the morning?

Well, as famous as those pancakes are, this post is about pancakes that taste exactly like banana bread.  No kidding.  They are yummy.   Jim made these for us the other day during a major pancake making session, but neither of the kids would go near them.   That’s okay with me because now I have pancakes in the freezer too.

The original recipe comes from Ellie Krieger at Food Network, but we added cut up bananas and walnuts to the mix.  Definitely a recipe that I’m going to be requesting again.

Recipe:  Banana Bread Pancakes

3/4 cup all-purpose flour  (Jim used 2 Tbsp. soy flour, then the remaining all-purpose flour)

3/4 cup whole-wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1 cup low-fat sour cream

1/2 cup non-fat milk  (if you think the batter is too thick, just add a little bit more milk)

1 tablespoon honey

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

2 small bananas, diced

1/4 – 1/2 c. chopped walnuts

Preheat a large nonstick griddle or skillet over a medium-low flame.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flour through salt). In another medium bowl, beat together the eggs, sour cream, non-fat milk, honey and vanilla.

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixing only enough to combine them. The batter will be somewhat lumpy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 5:46 pm

    We are pancake fiends, too! My children will not even touch them if they are not HOT, fresh right off the griddle. Joe calls out and they race to get a plate and stand waiting for them to be flipped over onto it. He makes them every Sunday unless we have an early (8/9) baseball or basketball game. The bummer is I’m not sure mine will eat them unless they are plain. I keep seeing all these cool recipes for pancakes.

    Oh, and I won’t tell your secret…..between us I purposely play possum with cooking pancakes….I think, Joe suspects something, but the kids haven’t caught on. LOL! I make Saturday’s breakfast that’s enough. :-)
    ~ingrid

  2. March 12, 2009 8:52 pm

    So toasted and yummy looks… Hmmmm…

  3. March 12, 2009 8:58 pm

    Omg! I loooooove pancakes! I still live at home with my parents, and my mom used to be the pancake queen! But once I mastered the art of “the flip” I took her title! :P

  4. March 13, 2009 1:46 am

    I love pancakes, especially banana pancakes. The addition of banana makes them so moist. These sound delicious and healthy which is a plus! I might try making a batch and freezing them for an on the go breakfast. Great idea!!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 14, 2009 7:21 pm

    ingrid – You are funny, but honestly, my pancakes are barely edible. I’m not pulling the wool over Jim’s eyes one bit. : )

    Talita – These really are like biting into a warm slice of banana bread!

    howtoeatacupcake – Maybe it’s “the flip” that does me in!

    lisa – I love that these are super healthy AND taste great. You can’t go wrong with that.

    – Shell

Leave a Reply

