Skip to content

Shamrock shakes at home

March 13, 2009

Homemade Shamrock Shake

I am always so happy when March finally rolls around.  It means that Spring is finally coming – the days are longer, the robins come back, lambs are born, and McDonald’s brings out the Shamrock Shake.  Woohoo!  I am not a big McDonald’s conesseur throughout the rest of the year, but I make up for it in March.  There is just something about those minty green milkshakes that makes me giddy.  Here’s my version of the Shamrock Shake.  I have to admit, that I prefer milkshakes made with softserve, so I really do like Mickey D’s better than my own, but it’s still pretty darn good.

Recipe:  Shamrock Shake

1 c. milk

2 c. vanilla ice cream

1/2 tsp. peppermint extract

green food coloring, optional

Mix all ingredients in the blender until it is the consistency you enjoy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2009 1:19 am

    I JUST got done eating a mint oreo shake, although I have to admit that it wasn’t in honor of St. Patrick’s day. I just eat oreo shakes all the time. I think the freshness of the mint flavor tricks me into thinking it’s healthy or something. I’ll just let myself believe that. ;)

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 14, 2009 7:22 pm

    Farmer Gal – I’ll tell you, maybe it’s the mint, I don’t know – but those shamrock shakes are my favorite shake anywhere. Oreo sounds good too!

    – Shell

  3. March 14, 2009 11:27 pm

    Yum! I love Shamrock Shakes!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 16, 2009 2:54 pm

    Erin – Me too!!

Leave a Reply

