Skip to content

Letter to My Daughter by Maya Angelou

March 14, 2009
tags:

mayaangelou3If you have not read Letter to My Daughter, by Maya Angelou yet, I hope you run right to your bookstore or library and pick up a copy.  This little book is a gem, and you will not be disappointed.

I remember the exact moment that Maya Angelou made an impact on my world.  The date was January 20, 1993.  That was the day she read her powerful poem, On the Pulse of Morning, at the Inauguration of President Bill Clinton.  Do you remember that?  She made such an impression on me that morning.  She is wonderfully gifted.  Truthfully, I would be happy to listen to her reading her grocery list.  Her voice just hypnotizes me.

“Dedicated to the daughter she never had, but sees all around her,” these vignettes bring us a little bit memoir, a little bit poetry, and a little bit humor.  Angelou recounts experiences from her life that have taught her lessons and shown her how to grow to be the person she is today.

This is hands-down, one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.  She writes with such a genuine honesty of heart and soul, that she draws me in.  She shares intimate glimpses of herself with grace and beauty.  This book will definitely have a permanent place on my bookshelf.  It is one that I will enjoy reading again, and one that I will encourage my own daughter to read when she’s older.

If you’re interested, there is a book review of Letter to My Daughter at Powell’s.

And just so I can look back on the moment I heard her read On the Pulse of Morning, here is a video clip of Maya Angelou from 1993.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

