Skip to content

Mexican brownies

March 19, 2009

Mexican Brownies

The reason I love brownies is two-fold, really.  First, they taste great, of course.  And second, they aren’t something you have to fuss over or babysit.  Just mix them up, put then in the oven, and walk away.  I like that.

When I saw this recipe for Mexican brownies, the combination of chocolate and cinnamon lured me in.  The brownies themselves came together in a snap and smelled great baking.  I took them out 5 minutes earlier than the recipe called for, but I wish I had checked on them even earlier.  By the time I poked a toothpick tester into them, there were no moist crumbs left on my tester.  Bummer.  They’re still good though.  I messed up by using a 9″ pan and not adjusting my baking time – my mistake entirely.

My only complaint about this recipe is the brown sugar topping.  THAT required a great deal of babysitting.  In fact, so much time passed that the township workers were in and out of my house over a dozen times trying to fix our water meter before the mixture even got close to boiling.  And when the time finally came to spread it on top of the brownies, I still didn’t think the mixture was smooth enough – it’s kind of grainy when you bite into it.  Anyway – would I make these again?  Probably not, to tell you the truth.  I did like the cinnamon in there, so if I came across another recipe that combined these flavors, I might try it.  But to make this particular recipe again?  I don’t think so.  I just don’t have the patience for it.  I’m more of an instant gratification baker, I guess.

Recipe:  Mexican Brownies

(from Epicurious)

For brownies:

4 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped

1/2 c. unsalted butter

1 1/4 c. packed light brown sugar

1 Tbsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. milk chocolate chips

For brown sugar topping:

1 c. packed light brown sugar

1/4 c. heavy whipping cream

1 Tbsp. unsalted butter

3/4 Tbsp. vanilla extract

1/2 c. chopped or sliced almonds

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Line an 8″ baking pan with foil, extending foil over sides.  Stir unsweetened chocolate and butter in heavy saucepan over low heat until melted and smooth.  Cool 5 minutes.  Whisk in sugar, cinnamon, and salt.  Whisk in eggs, one at a time, then vanilla.  Continue to whisk until batter is smooth, about 2 minutes.  Add flour and whisk just until blended.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Pour batter into prepared pan, smoothing surface.  Bake until tester inserted into center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, about 35 minutes.  Cool completely.

Make topping:

Whisk sugar, cream, and butter in heavy saucepan over low heat until mixture is smooth and comes to a boil.  Remove from heat; mix in vanilla.  Cool 10 minutes.  Whisk until thick enough to spread.  Spread over brownies.  Sprinkle with almonds.  Let stand until topping sets, about 1 hour.

Remove from pan and cut into 16 squares.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 11:45 pm

    Holy moly, these look amazing! Love, love, love the combination of chocolate and cinnamon! Send one (or, you know, three) my way!

    +Jessie

  2. March 20, 2009 6:03 am

    oh wow! cinnamon + chocolate? hmmm did it add a spicy kick to it? love your blog!

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 20, 2009 5:53 pm

    The Hungry Mouse and Pearl – Yep, chocolate and cinnamon. And it really is a great combination. Let me know if you try it!

    – Shell

  4. March 21, 2009 8:13 pm

    Chocolate and spice were made for each other! This sounds fantastic, and a good twist on the standard brownie.

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 23, 2009 8:56 pm

    BitterSweet – Thanks. I like the flavor twist too.

    – Shell

Leave a Reply

