Skip to content

Baked oatmeal

April 1, 2009

Baked Oatmeal

Today is a dark, dreary day in my corner of the world.  It’s rainy and muddy and chilly.  It’s a good day for baked oatmeal.  I enjoyed this oatmeal hot from the oven, and I like the versatility of it.  You can add whatever fruits and nuts you like – next time I’m going to use walnuts or pecans in place of the pumpkin seeds.  I like roasted pepitas, but their texture in this dish wasn’t appealing to me.  Otherwise – a great comfort food.

Recipe:  Baked Oatmeal

(adapted slightly from seven spoons)

Softened butter, for greasing the baking dish

2 c. old-fashioned rolled oats

1/2 c. sliced almonds, lightly toasted

1/3 c. packed brown sugar

1/4 c. pepitas, lightly toasted  (I’m going to try pecans or walnuts here next time.)

2 tsp. flax seeds  (I didn’t have flax seeds, so I used the milled flax seed I had in the fridge.)

1 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground ginger

1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/8 tsp. ground clove

1/8 tsp. kosher salt

2 c. milk

1 large egg

2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. pure maple syrup

3-4 medium bananas, sliced into rounds

1 c. frozen blueberries

Course sugar, optional for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and lightly butter a 2 quart casserole dish.

Arrange the bananas around the bottom of the casserole dish.  Top with frozen blueberries.   In a medium sized bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients and spices.  In another bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients, reserving a little bit of the melted butter.  Spread the oat (dry) mixture over the fruit, taking care to not pack it down.  Carefully pour the wet mixture over the oats to coat.  (It will look like a lot of liquid, but it will get absorbed during baking.)  Drizzle reserved butter and coarse sugar over top.  Bake 35-40 minutes until oatmeal is puffed and set and golden brown on top.  Can serve with a little extra milk or dollop of yogurt.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 7:47 pm

    I like the idea of bake oatmeal. This is the second one I’ve seen in a few weeks. My kids like oatmeal….this might be a nice change for them.

    Sorry, I haven’t got back to you….made the bars…will email you later! :-)
    ~ingrid

  2. April 2, 2009 1:12 am

    My husband has oatmeal every morning for breakfast. This might be a nice change of pace for him. You always come out with such good looking recipes… Thanks for sharing them!

  3. Jillian permalink
    April 3, 2009 5:53 pm

    I love Baked Oatmeal. That looks yummy!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 4, 2009 10:24 pm

    Ingrid and Farmer Gal – Do try it. It’s a comfy kind of dish and it’ll make your kitchen smell amazing.

    Jillian – Thanks!

  5. April 18, 2009 1:57 pm

    So glad to read that you enjoyed the recipe. My husband always says that when I bake this, the house smells like a fruit crisp. Not a bad way to start the day, I think!

Leave a Reply

