Skip to content

Whole wheat English muffins

April 3, 2009

Whole Wheat English Muffins

Woohoo!  Success with a recipe that requires kneading!

I didn’t think it was ever going to happen, frankly.  I’ve had one baking fiasco after another with anything that requires kneading.  Despite that, for some insane reason, I have really, really, really wanted to make my own bread.  I think I’ve found my compromise.  English muffins.  And my new hand mixer with dough hook attachments helped too.

Granted, it’s not a loaf of bread.  And my house didn’t get that amazing aroma of baking bread.  But it is a yeast dough and it is bread-like.  Right?  I’m just so pleased with the whole experience I can’t even tell you.  And these aren’t just any old English muffins either.  They’re whole wheat English muffins complete with nooks and crannies.

Even though there are 2 cups of whole wheat flour in this recipe, the muffins are still light and airy.  Nice and golden with a bit of cornmeal on the bottom.  Mmm.  And awesome topped with my friend’s strawberry jam.  (Thanks, Michelle!)

Recipe:  Whole Wheat English Muffins

(straight from recipe tips)

1/4 c. warm water

1 package dry yeast (or 1 Tbsp.)

2 c. whole wheat flour, plus more as needed during kneading

1 c. all-purpose flour (you may use all whole wheat flour, but you will have a denser muffin)

1 tsp. Kosher salt

1 c. milk

3 Tbsp. canola oil

1 Tbsp. honey

1 egg

cornmeal, as needed

Sprinkle yeast over warm water (105 degrees is ideal) and let stand until foamy, about 10 minutes.

In a large bowl, mix flours and salt.  In a separate bowl, mix milk, oil, and honey.  Add egg and stir until well blended.  Stir in yeast mixture.

Add liquid to half of the dry ingredients and mix well, with a mixer or by hand.  Mix in remaining dry ingredients.  Dough will be soft and sticky.  Turn dough out onto a work surface and knead for several minutes.  If dough is too sticky to knead, add flour one tablespoon at a time.  (This is where my new dough hooks came into the picture.  I didn’t even bother to turn the dough out – I just added the flour to my bowl and kneaded the dough with the hand mixer.  It worked great.)

Put dough in an oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap or a damp towel, and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size, about 1 hour.  (Tip from original recipe:  heat a cup of water in your microwave for 2 minutes, then remove it and place your covered bowl in the microwave for 1 hour w/o turning the microwave back on.  Works like a charm.)

Turn risen dough out onto a work surface that has been liberally dusted with cornmeal and pat or roll to about 1/2″ thickness.  Cut into approximately 3″ rounds.  If you wish, combine the scraps of dough into more muffins, handling as little as possible.  (For next time, I plan to just cut my muffins into square shapes so I don’t end up with scraps.) Cover muffins with a towel and let rise for 20-30 minutes.

Heat a griddle or large skillet over medium-low heat.  Sprinkle with corn meal.  Using a spatula, carefully transfer muffins to hot griddle.  Cook about 5 minutes on each side, then turn and cook 2 minutes more on each side.  Outsides will get golden brown and crusty, insides should be soft but not gooey.

Remove to cooling rack.   English muffins can be fork split or cut with a knife.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 11:07 pm

    Those look perfect, just perfect.

  2. April 4, 2009 12:45 am

    These look yummy!

    I have been buying English Muffins with flax seed in them lately. Maybe I will try this recipe soon and add some flax seeds..

    Thanks for sharing!!

  3. April 4, 2009 12:08 pm

    I am thinking that your house didnt smell because you were so engulfed in the heavenly aroma. These look amazing. Dont give up you will find your bread baking mojo I am sure. Especially if you can make these beautiful things!

  4. April 4, 2009 4:16 pm

    Are people lifting your photos? How did you find out? They ARE marvelous photos. I had no idea you were such a talented photographer.
    So I’ve been hoping for some craft/scrapbooking project posts…?

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 4, 2009 10:27 pm

    thebitesite – Thanks a lot. They are so good warm off the griddle.

    Natalie – Oh, I might try them with flax seed next time too! Thanks for the idea!

    Lori – I love that…..I haven’t found my bread baking mojo yet. LOL

    Artemis – Yes, sad but true. Long story though. And I know there haven’t been enough crafts. I keep telling myself when it warms up I’ll get into the family room to scrap again. It’s just so cold in there through the winter!

    – Shell

  6. April 7, 2009 2:26 am

    Yay, for baked bread or english muffins! :-) Good for you…..can’t wait to see what yeasted yummy you bake up next.
    ~ingrid

  7. April 4, 2011 11:28 pm

    Hi!! I made these last Thurs and they were absolutely yummy!! I still have 2 left in the freezer!! I have one question. In the directions it says to “mix flours and salt” but I didnt see salt in the ingredients. I just guessed and put 1 tsp, but it seemed like it wasnt quite enough. I was just curious how much did the recipe call for? Thank you soooooo much!! ;) Im definately going to make these again and again!!!

  8. Sue permalink
    August 3, 2012 3:18 pm

    How much salt?

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 4, 2012 6:41 am

    Sue – Thanks for alerting me of my omission in the recipe! You need 1 tsp. of salt for the English muffins. I’ve fixed the error and it’s all good now. :) Hope you enjoy them.
    ~ Michelle

  10. Sue permalink
    August 7, 2012 5:46 pm

    Thank you. I will try these this weekend. They look really good. I just hope they turn out as good looking as your pictures!

Leave a Reply

