Skip to content

Lemon shortbread bars

April 7, 2009
tags: , ,

Lemon Shortbread Bars

You are going to be bombarded with lemon recipes.  Sorry ahead of time if you aren’t a fan, but there’s a trophy and some big bragging rites riding on whatever lemon masterpiece I decide on.  Please bear with me a couple more days…

I found this lemon shortbread bar recipe at The Well Seasoned Cook.  I have to say, once again my impatience screwed up any chance I had at getting a beautiful cut.  I tried to wait for it to chill, but seriously.  I’m just so bad at that.  Anyway, these bars are delicious.  They taste just like a lemon meringue pie without the meringue.  But this just isn’t the one for me to bake for the throwdown.  I can’t possibly compete with my mom on anything that tastes like a pie.  She is the queen of pie.  So I’ll keep trudging on.  Stay tuned for another lemon contender tomorrow.

Recipe:  Lemon Shortbread Bars

10 Tbsp. unsalted butter

2 Tbsp. powdered sugar

2 Tbsp. granulated sugar

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  In a large bowl, cream butter with sugars until light and fluffy.  Add all the flour to butter and mix quickly with fingers until dough resembles large loose crumbs and all the flour is absorbed.  Empty dough into a 8×8 baking pan that has been lined with foil (ungreased).  Lightly and evenly press and pat dough into pan.  Prick dough all over with a fork.  Bake on center rack for 35 minutes or until dough is biscuit golden but not browned.

Remove from oven and lower oven temperature to 300 degrees.  Pour and smooth lemon curd (recipe to follow) on top of shortbread, returning it to oven to bake for 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and allow pan to cool completely before transferring pan to refrigerator, chilling a minimum of 1/2 hour before carefully lifting shortbread from pan.  Cut shortbread into squares with a long knife.

Recipe:  Lemon Curd

1/3 c. strained fresh lemon juice

4 egg yolks

1 c. granulated sugar

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter

2 Tbsp. lemon zest

powdered sugar for dusting

While shortbread is baking, beat the egg yolks and sugar in a nonreactive medium saucepan.  Add lemon juice and butter.  Over low/medium heat, cook the mixture, continuously stirring.  It will slowly thicken and become more yellow and opaque.  It should not boil.  If saucepan steams, remove from heat and stir until temperature lowers.  Curd is done when a wodden spoon stirred into mixture is thickly colored yellow.  Remove from heat and quickly pour contents through a strainer.  Stir in lemon zest.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 1:30 am

    Looks good! Bring on the lemon desserts. We’re a big fan of all things lemony! Since I made that whole lemon tart Devon, one of the twins has been bugging about making another one or lemon squares. How do these differ? I see at the bottom there’s a link to lemon bars. I’ll check it out.

    Michelle I’m the same way. I ruin many a photo due to impatience. The soft filling of yours actually looks good….. makes me want to take a swipe at it!
    ~ingrid

Leave a Reply

