Skip to content

Lemon white chocolate bars

April 7, 2009
tags: , ,

Lemon White Chocolate Bars

I’m running out of time here, folks.  This is the third lemon dessert and it’s good, but still not the one I’m looking for.  Dani’s taunting me.  Mom’s acting all full of herself because she’s baking a Paula Deen recipe.  And Bea’s  joined in the goading, even though she’s supposed to be impartial, being the MC of this lemon throwdown and all.  Thankfully, my Claudia is on my side.  She’s been an awesome sous chef – that child can squeeze every drop of juice out of a lemon.  She’s my go-to gal.

I’ve got one more recipe up my sleeve.

Until then…

Recipe:  Lemon White Chocolate Bars

(from Cooks Recipes)

1 1/4 c. all purpose flour, divided

1 c. granulated sugar, divided

1/3 c. butter, softened

1 c. white chocolate chips  (I used 1 1/2 bars of Lindt white chocolate, chopped)

2 large eggs, slightly beaten

1/4 c. fresh lemon juice

2 tsp. freshly grated lemon peel

powdered sugar

Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease a 9″ square baking pan and set aside.

Combine 1 c. flour and 1/4 c. granulated sugar in medium bowl; cut in butter with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Press mixture into bottom of prepared pan.  Bake 15 minutes or until lightly golden.  Remove from oven; sprinkle chocolate chips over top.

Stir together eggs, lemon juice, lemon peel, remaining 1/4 c. flour, and remaining 3/4 c. granulated sugar in medium bowl.  Carefully pour over chips and crust.

Bake 15 minutes or until set.  Cool slightly in pan; sift powdered sugar over top.  Cool completely before cutting into bars.

Makes 16 bars.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 7:03 pm

    Lemon & white chocolate? Never heard of that flavor combo. You said that they were good but not the one. What did ya like and didn’t like? Would you recommend these if I wasn’t in a lemon throwdown? Ha, ha!
    ~ingrid

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    April 7, 2009 10:01 pm

    Ingrid – That flavor combination has come up a lot in my lemon searches. My kids said these bars were “okay” and Jim and I liked them. I’d definitely tell you to give them a try and let me know what you think. They sure did come together in a snap too.

    – Michelle

Leave a Reply

