Skip to content

Our Annual Iron Chef Throwdown Challenge

April 10, 2009
tags: ,

Iron Chef Throwdown:  Secret Ingredient – Lemon

And the winner is…..  Dani’s Lemon Sorbet!!!!!

Sorry for the bad photo quality, but here it is.  The end of my year as reigning champion and keeper of the trophy.  Sigh.  Alas, I concede defeat to my little sister.  Her sorbet was simple and delicious.  A huge hit and a taste of summer.  I still managed to pull in some votes for my lemon mascarpone though, and Mom got a couple votes for her Paula Deen lemon cake.  But the bragging rights for the next year are all Dani’s.  Congrats, Dan.  And I mean it, even though it pains me to lose the trophy.  Just make sure it’s nice and shiny when it comes back next year.

Dani’s Winning Recipe:  Lemon Sorbet

2 cups water

1 cup to 1 1/4 cup sugar (depending on how sweet you want it)

1 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice (5-6 lemons)

2 tsp. lemon zest

Boil water and sugar to make a syrup.  Let cool.

Once cool, add zest and lemon juice.

Pour into ice cream maker.  Freeze for 40 minutes.

If you do not have an ice cream maker, you can freeze the sorbet in your freezer, stirring occasionally.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2009 4:26 pm

    Wow Lemon Mascarpone Parfait, lemon bars, lemon lemon lemon! I wish I was there that day for the lemon throwdown. You are my kinda people!

  2. otherwisealilly permalink
    April 13, 2009 1:17 am

    i like the idea of having cooking throwdowns at family get togetgers. nice.

  3. Dani permalink
    April 16, 2009 9:36 pm

    Oh how happy this post makes me!!! Leading up to the challenge last year and this year, I really did not put a great deal of thought into my recipes. As soon as I heard “lemon”, the first thing that popped into my head was lemon sorbet. I honestly did not care how the challenge turned out until the day Shell called to tell me that she was just going to hand out sliced lemons for the kids because nothing she was making was turning out….hehe.

    At that point I got a little excited and wanted to bring the trophy home like crazy. What a fun day it was even though I knew it killed Shell to have to hand over the trophy.

    It now sits proudly beside my television so I can admire it for the next 360 days.

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 1, 2009 9:04 pm

    Dani, are you gloating?

Leave a Reply

