Skip to content

Pizza night

April 17, 2009
tags: ,

Pesto Pizza with Spinach and Artichoke

We had “make your own pizza night” at our house.  I definitely went the quick route and used some premade ingredients, but I was pleased with the final outcome.  I bought a Boboli whole wheat pizza crust and topped it with pesto sauce that I picked up in the Italian section of the deli.  Our toppings were chopped artichoke hearts, frozen spinach (thawed and squeezed dry), tomatoes, and feta, parmesan and mozzarella cheeses.  We were munching on this in no time.

Granted, I could have made the dough and pesto from scratch, and maybe I will the next time, but I really just wanted convenient tonight.  The kids made their own pizzas too – the one in the picture was mine and Jim’s.  They each did a more traditional pie and they loved making it and were pretty happy to eat their creations.

Okay, and on a side note, I have a funny mom story to share.

Sam and I were sitting on the couch and my eyes started to itch like crazy.  I seem to have been plagued with some kind of crazy allergy issue over the last week.  Anyway.  I started rubbing my eyes and when they finally stopped bugging me, I looked over at Sam and asked him if I’d just messed up my mascara.  Duh.  Of course I had.  But he looked up at me and with all seriousness said, “No, but you just smudged it where your bags usually are.”  Bags??  Do I have bags under my eyes?? Really??  When did that happen??

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 3:07 am

    Oh, boy…they do say the darnest stuff. Don’t ask them if you don’t want the truth that’s for sure. :)

    Your pizza sounds good. Nothing wrong with premade especially if it’s quality & healthy premade. I did that tonight too.

    Have a wonderful weekend!
    ~ingrid

  2. April 18, 2009 5:27 pm

    first of all, why can’t every night be pizza night? secondly, that’s a hilarious story. i love hearing kids’ uncensored comments…except when they’re about me. :)

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 1, 2009 8:57 pm

    I agree, ladies. And why can’t every night be pizza night? Who made that rule anyway? I just wish the photo was better – it doesn’t do this combination justice.

    – Shell

Leave a Reply

