Skip to content

Chocolate frozen yogurt without an ice cream machine

April 21, 2009

Chocolate Frozen Yogurt

After discovering that it’s possible to make ice cream without an ice cream maker, I’ve been seeing all these great recipes for ice cream all over the place.  I figured if I could do it with ice cream, why not frozen yogurt?  Chocolate is a good place to start around here.  None of us is going to say no to something chocolaty, so I found this recipe and went to town.

Truly, it is so easy to do this.  Why did I not know it before?  I keep imagining all the flavor combinations I can create.  I think this one would be great with candy pieces or some chopped cherries.  Or what about a swirl of marshmallow fluff?  Or banana pieces and chopped walnuts?  See what I mean?

If you don’t have an ice cream machine, head to David Lebovitz‘s blog to get excellent instructions on how to make it using your hand mixer instead.

Recipe:  Chocolate Frozen Yogurt

3/4 c. granulated sugar

2 tsp. cornstarch

1 can (12 oz.) fat-free evaporated milk

1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips

1 c. plain lowfat yogurt  (I used lowfat vanilla yogurt.)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Stir together cornstarch and sugar in a saucepan.  Stir in evaporated milk and chocolate chips.  Cook over medium heat until chocolate is melted and mixture has thickened slightly.  Stir constantly to prevent burning.

Remove from heat and add yogurt and vanilla.  Refrigerate until chilled.

Pour mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s directions.  (Or follow the link above to make it without an ice cream maker, like I did.)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 5:52 pm

    WOW this look so tasty and the photo is great

    thanks

  2. April 22, 2009 5:30 pm

    I will check that out! I’ve been wanting an ice cream maker for a long time, but have been afraid of what it might do to my waistline.

    I included you in my new page of blog links. If you want to check it out, go the main page and click on the ‘Blog Love’ link on the left side!

  3. smallkitchenbigideas permalink
    April 23, 2009 8:17 pm

    This looks delicious! I love frozen yogurt but don’t have a favorite chocolate recipe so I will have to try this!

  4. April 24, 2009 4:56 pm

    No way, my hand mixer can make that?!? I love David Lebovitz! I agree, ice cream is something that has no end to the flavours! great job.

  5. April 24, 2009 8:54 pm

    You are definitely on the same page! I’ve been making a lot of ice cream lately, too. :)

    Btw, I just noticed you added me to your blogroll. Thanks!
    ~ingrid

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 1, 2009 8:50 pm

    Recipe Man – Many thanks!

    Farmer Gal – Thanks for spreading some blog love our way. : )

    smallkitchen – Thanks. Please come back and tell me if you liked it.

    Coco Bean – Yep! So cool, isn’t it??

    Ingrid – I love that I can make good ice cream without a machine. The kids love it too. I get many great mom points for this.

    – Michelle

  7. February 27, 2010 9:40 am

    Wow, this looks so delicious and so simple. I will definitely be trying it out in the near future. Since I also have a food blog, if I try someone else’s recipes, I usually post them, with permission (and I always link it back to the author!)… if I make this, do you mind if I post it?

    I have just discovered your blog, but I will definitely be back!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 27, 2010 12:08 pm

    Hi, ezrecipes. Absolutely! I hope you try the recipes and link back to me. I do the same when I use a great recipe someone else posted. Thanks!
    ~Michelle

  9. bean permalink
    August 17, 2011 7:48 am

    YUM! I’m gonna try to sell it to save moola for a car!

  10. June 10, 2012 10:20 pm

    Reblogged this on Flour and Lace and commented:
    Here’s another thing to add to the “must do” list! Oh my goodness, I can’t even begin to describe how much I LOVE fro-yo!

  11. June 10, 2012 10:21 pm

    Reblogged this so that I can find the instructions again the next time I make yogurt! Thanks for the great recipe!

  12. Jen permalink
    September 8, 2012 1:46 pm

    I have evaporated milk (from a recipe I changed my mind about making), but it isn’t fat-free. Is the fat-free just for health purposes, or could I still use the regular evap milk?

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 8, 2012 3:18 pm

    Jen, no worries! Your evaporated milk will work great. Enjoy!
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

