Skip to content

Strawberry oreo truffles

April 27, 2009

Strawberry Oreo Truffles

The thermometer went above 90 degrees today, but I had to get in the kitchen to make something for my book club.  I opted for oreo truffles for a few reasons.  No oven required, for one.  Also, I saw the strawberry milkshake flavor.  Maybe I was hearing voices, but I could swear I heard a choir of tiny voices singing.  I bought them, of course.

I love oreo truffles.  They’re so very easy to make, require 3 ingredients, and anyone who tastes one just looks like they’re going to melt on the spot.  They make you weak in the knees.  They make a soft sigh escape from your lips.  Mmmm.  I’m not kidding here.  I’ve seen it happen.  If you haven’t made these yet, you have to try them.  Maybe not on a 90 degree day with a broken air conditioner, but soon.

Recipe:  Strawberry Oreo Truffles

1 pkg. strawberry milkshake Oreos

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1 pkg. dark chocolate candy melts

Crush all the Oreos in the food processor until they are small crumbs.  Transfer to a bowl and stir in cream cheese until no white remains.   (I find this is really a squishing sort of activity.  The back of a big wooden spoon works great.)  Roll mixture into small balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper.  Chill in refrigerator to allow them to firm up slightly.

When you are ready to dip the truffles, melt the candy melts according to package directions.  Using a fork, dip each ball into the chocolate, tap off excess, and return to waxed paper.  After all truffles have been dipped, return to refrigerator to allow chocolate to set up and harden.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. bakingblonde permalink
    April 27, 2009 10:46 pm

    YUM! I have tried flavored cream cheese with my Oreo truffles as well!
    Gotta love a dessert that uses under 5 ingredients!

  2. April 28, 2009 1:34 am

    Yum! I adore truffles! These seem super easy. No tempering chocolate :)

  3. April 28, 2009 1:37 am

    What what what? Oreos have strawberry flavor now? I must run out and get these right away. Thanks!

  4. April 28, 2009 3:14 am

    Ha, ha, ha! I like how you described everyone’s reaction. Believe or not I haven’t made or even tried the oreo truffles. I can hear you’re , whaaaaaaat?! reaction. :)

    You did a fantastic job on dipping them in chocolate……what’s your secret or are you just a naturally gifted chocolate dipper. hee, hee!

    Have a great week!
    ~ingrid

  5. April 28, 2009 4:59 am

    Ok, so you are saying that my favorite cookie comes in truffle form… (singing from above) My tummy thanks you.

  6. April 28, 2009 1:56 pm

    These look great! I’ve never tried oreo truffles myself, coz I don’t eat cream cheese (or any cheese for that matter :P), but these look so tempting!

  7. April 28, 2009 2:23 pm

    Wow, very pretty!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 1, 2009 8:43 pm

    baking blonde – What a great idea! Thanks for the tip.

    Tessa – They are really easy to make, but the candy coating can still get pretty fussy to work with. They’re definitely worth it though.

    Robin Sue – I KNOW. They’re good too!

    Ingrid – I can’t believe you’ve not tried these yet. My favorite are made using the mint double stuff oreos. Pure bliss. Oh, and I am far from a good chocolate dipper. It makes me crazy dipping anything!

    Coco Bean – One bite and you’ll be hooked, I promise.

    ovenhaven – No cheese??? What???

    Dimah – Thank you!

    – Michelle

  9. August 12, 2009 1:24 pm

    Thanks for the recipe! Tried it tonight with the mint oreos; they were a big hit! There will be a write-up with a link back to you on http://crackerandcheese.com in the next week or so.

  10. Jen permalink
    October 10, 2010 3:57 pm

    Just made these today for a party. I used milk chocolate melts. They turned out so cute! Thanks so much for the idea!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 11, 2010 7:19 am

    Jen – I’m really glad you enjoyed the oreo truffles and came back to comment. : ) Thank you!
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

