Skip to content

What I’ve been reading.

May 1, 2009
tags:

I want to share what I’ve been reading since books take up a lot of the time I’m not spending in mom-mode or in the kitchen.

This book actually brings together my kitchen world and my book world.  It’s A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table by Molly Wizenberg.  For those of you fellow food blog lovers, you’ll recognize the name.  Molly writes the famed blog, Orangette.  I enjoyed reading the stories behind each recipe, and I’ve marked several recipes that I’d like to try.  What I especially liked was the poignant, honest memories of her dad, his cancer, and his death.  Our dad passed away from cancer too.  I’ve also got a close friend who just lost her 35 year old son to cancer.  Molly’s description of how she felt after his death is absolutely the best way I can imagine to explain the feeling of watching someone you love die that way.

The book isn’t sad and heavy though.  Instead, it’s a book that makes you feel like you’ve just met Molly at a coffee shop and become fast friends.  She’s got such a personal writing style, and I enjoy reading her blog just as much.

I told you what I made to take to book club the other day, but I forgot to mention what we discussed.  We read the nonfiction book Hurry Down Sunshine by Michael Greenberg.  Greenberg shares the story of his daughter’s mental breakdown.  She spent the summer she was 15 years old in a mental hospital, diagnosed as bipolar 1.

Greenberg’s story isn’t very emotional, and he and his wife and ex-wife don’t exactly come off as a warm, fuzzy kind of family.  He often writes as though he’s detaching himself from the story he’s telling.  It’s an interesting book all the same.  And knowing that it’s true made it a compelling page-turner for me.

More books I’ve read…

Granny Torelli Makes Soup by Sharon Creech – a book Sam and I read together and we both loved it!

The Vagrants by Yiyun Li – I’m in the middle of this one now and it’s engaging, but a little slow.  A historical fiction novel set in China during the Cultural Revolution.

The Seduction of Water by Carol Goodman – I had read another by Goodman several years ago – The Lake of Dead Languages – and had enjoyed that so I picked this one up.  It was okay.  Rather predictable and it was easy enough for me to put it down and walk away.  I’d rather read one that makes me stay up late because I have to know what happens next.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2009 1:44 pm

    I’m at the very end of A Homemade Life and I’ve loved every minute of it.

    I’m currently reading Ruth Reichl’s books now. Love those too!

Leave a Reply

