Skip to content

Chocolate mousse cake

May 1, 2009

Chocolate Mousse Cake

I am going to be a cake baking machine this week.  I was asked to bake 6 layer cakes for a wedding.  Each cake is to be a different flavor and each will be decorated differently.  They are going to serve as both the cakes the wedding guests eat and the table centerpieces.  I’m so excited for this challenge.  I was a little overwhelmed at first, but the more I thought about it and with some encouragement, I decided to go for it.  I can do this.  Granted, I could be ruining someone’s wedding day, but still.  No pressure.

First, I’m concentrating on flavors.  After I have that pegged down, I’ll move on to frosting and decorating.  We’ll get to that later.

In the meantime, here’s a version of cake #1.  It’s a recipe from Hershey’s for a chocolate mousse torte, but I adapted it by using 9″ cake pans instead of a jellyroll pan.  I know, you might be thinking it’s not terribly gourmet to use a Hershey’s recipe.  But who knows more about chocolate than the good people at Hershey’s?  I’ve been there.  I’ve ridden in the cocoa bean.  I’ve smelled the chocolate melting.  Trust me.  They know chocolate.

I’ve decided that the final cake is going to be a dark chocolate with the same mousse filling that’s here.  It is freaking good.  This is a great chocolate cake, but the mousse is the star.   I wouldn’t mind eating it from a really big bowl all on its own.  In fact, it’d make me pretty happy.

Recipe:  Hershey’s Chocolate Mousse Cake

(from Hershey’s Kitchens)

2/3 c. butter, softened

1 c. granulated sugar

3 eggs

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 c. all-purpose flour

2/3 c. Hershey’s cocoa  (Next time I’m going to use Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa)

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 1/3 c. milk

Chocolate Mousse Filling (recipe follows)

Heat oven to 350°F.  Grease and flour two 9″ pans.

Beat butter and sugar in large bowl until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking powder and baking soda; gradually add to butter mixture, alternately with milk, beating until well blended. Spread batter into prepared pans.

Bake about 30 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes. Invert onto wire rack; carefully turn over so cakes are right side up. Cool completely.

Prepare Chocolate Mousse Filling. Place one layer of cake on serving plate; spread with filling.  Frost with your favorite frosting.  Refrigerate until ready to serve. Cover; refrigerate leftovers.

Recipe:  Chocolate Mousse Filling

1 tsp. unflavored gelatin

1 Tbsp. cold water

2 Tbsp. boiling water

1 c. cold heavy whipping cream

1/3 c. powdered sugar

3 Tbsp. Hershey’s Cocoa

1 tsp. vanilla extract
Sprinkle gelatin over cold water in small cup; let stand several minutes to soften. Add boiling water; stir until gelatin is dissolved and mixture is clear. Cool 5 minutes.

Beat whipping cream, powdered sugar, cocoa and vanilla in medium bowl until thickened; pour in gelatin mixture and beat until stiff.  (I put my mixing bowl over and touching another bowl with ice in it so that everything would stay really cold.  I find that I get better results with whipping cream this way.) Makes about 2 cups filling.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 2:25 am

    That looks darn good especially that mousse layer and I really don’t like chocolate.

    You go girl…bring on the cakes! Mmmmm!

    Thought it was quite funny when you said what really do you have to worry about excpet ruining someone’s wedding. That’s a neat idea using a layer cake as a centerpiece. Hope you keep us in the loop and blog about the cakes and decorating and everything in between!

    I’ll wish you good luck but I’m sure you’ll be fine and the bride and all of her guess will be pleased!
    ~ingrid

  2. May 2, 2009 1:28 am

    Ohhhh, this looks and sounds so good! If only I had gelatin, I would make this right now. I will just bookmark it and make it later. :)

    Good luck with the wedding cakes! I’m sure you’ll be fine.

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 5, 2009 6:14 pm

    Ingrid – How can you not like chocolate?

    Memoria – Thanks!! Hope you come back and leave a comment if you bake this. I’ll be making it again for sure.

    – Shell

Leave a Reply

