Skip to content

Strawberry Cake

May 4, 2009

Strawberry Cake

Today was a major cake baking day.  I baked two.  One was this strawberry cake and the other was a coconut cake.  This cake was quite yummy, but how could it not be when there was such a thick layer of sweetened whipped cream and fresh strawberries in the middle?  Unfortunately, the whipped cream made it kind of hard to slice and it ended up not looking very pretty.  I keep reminding myself that these cakes are about flavor, not appearance.  I’ll make sure they look good after I know they’re going to taste good.

I’ve been passing cake out to anyone willing to take it or we’d be as big as a house by now.  My neighbors are getting huge wedges of cake on almost a daily basis.  One neighbor told Jim to remind me that she’d already had her final dress fitting for her daughter’s wedding.  Made me laugh, but it won’t keep me from sending over more cake.

Here’s the link to the original recipe.  I’m sorry I can’t post it tonight, but my computer’s acting up and I’m having a hard enough time with what I’ve got so far.  If you’re interested, please head over to Country Living and take a look.  The only changes I made were turning it into a layer cake and using my own frosting.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 3:03 pm

    Hmmmm! I’ll take one of these, even though I’m feeling much better now. Thanks for your sweet comment.

  2. May 5, 2009 3:09 am

    I thought it looked great. Love the frosting to cake ratio! Right on!

    Wish I was a neighbor! :)
    ~ingrid

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 5, 2009 6:11 pm

    Ingrid – It’s actually chock full of whipped cream. Yum!

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

