Skip to content

Coconut cake

May 5, 2009

I mentioned yesterday that I had made a coconut cake, and  Jim said it was the best so far.  Honestly, I despise the flavor of coconut.  I’ve spent the better part of my life telling people that I’m allergic to it to avoid having to eat it.  Hm.  That’s almost embarrassing.  But it’s true.  This cake was so moist and light though, that I might even enjoy eating it sans all the coconut filling.  There’s coconut milk in the cake batter, which makes it so moist and gives you just the merest hint of coconut on the back of your tongue.  It’s really lovely.  Then I went and made a coconut frosting filling though and I washed my hands of the whole thing.  I know tastes change with age, but I’m not ready to see if that’s true or not.  I’ll pass it along to friends for them to taste for me instead.

The bride had mentioned that she might like ribbon on the cakes, so I thought I’d just play around a little tonight.  I got a couple round tips out and my new cake “turn table.”  Claudia was nudging me the whole time trying to snitch fingerfuls of frosting, so it’s far from a perfect decorating job.  It was good practice though.  And fun.

Are you tired of hearing about these cakes yet?  Just bear with me a few more days, then you won’t have to hear about them for a couple weeks.  If you’ve ever been challenged to make a special occassion cake, I’d love to hear about it.  Maybe I could pick up a few tips from you.

Recipe:  Coconut Cake

(from RecipeZaar)

(Because this was a practice cake for me, I halved the recipe and baked it in a square pan, then cut it into quarters for a mini cake.)

2 1/4 c. sifted cake flour

2 1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 2/3 c. sugar

1/3 c. butter, softened

2 large eggs

1 14-oz. can light coconut milk  (I just used regular coconut milk.)

1 Tbsp. vanilla

Coconut Buttercream Filling and Frosting (recipe follows)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Coat 2 (9 inch) round cake pans with cooking spray, dust with 1 tablespoon flour.

Combine 2 1/4 c. flour, baking powder, and salt by stirring with a whisk.

Place sugar and butter in a large bowl.  Beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended, about 5 minutes.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add flour mixture and coconut milk alternately to sugar mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture.  Stir in vanilla.  Pour into prepared pans.  Sharply tap the pans on the countertop to remove air bubbles.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool in pans for 10 minutes.  Remove from pans and cool completely on wire rack.

Coconut Filling and Frosting:

1/2 c. butter, softened

1/2 c. Crisco shortening

4 c. powdered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1/8 tsp. coconut extract

2 Tbsp. milk

2/3 c. sweetened flaked coconut

Cream butter and sugar until smooth.  Add powdered sugar in small amounts.  Mix in vanilla and coconut extracts.  Add milk until frosting is desired consistency.

Remove 1 – 1 1/2 c. of frosting to a separate bowl.  Stir in flaked coconut.

To assemble cake, lay one layer on cake platter.  Top with flaked coconut frosting.  Add second layer.  Frost cake with remaining buttercream frosting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 2:59 am

    Sorry I haven’t been around to comment on your fantastic cakes.

    Your cake looks great especially for a practice cake that your babygirl was helping you with, hee-hee! Too bad about not liking coconut …..more for me I say!! :)

    Gotta run I’ve got more cake of yours to drool over!
    ~ingrid

  2. May 12, 2009 5:09 am

    Gorgeous cake! You know, I never liked the taste of coconut either but now I have started using Unsweetened Shredded Coconut instead of Sweetened Flaked Coconut and I am finding out that I really do like it after all. The texture can still kind of bother me but the flavor itself is good and coconut milk can really enhance so many other flavors in a nice way. Who knows, I might even try this cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

