Skip to content

Birthday wishes and blackberry brownies

May 16, 2009

Blackberry Brownies

Today’s post and delicious dessert are in honor of Bea’s birthday.  Happy birthday to you!

We live about 4 1/2 hours away from each other, so she won’t actually be eating these brownies but it’s the thought that counts, right?  And I know just what she’s saying now.  “You’re a giver.”  She’s adding an abundance of sarcasm to that, just so you know.  I know she means it though.  And I know she’d want us to enjoy them on her behalf.

I didn’t choose just any old brownie to celebrate Bea’s big day either.  We are blackberry people from way back when Grandpa used to take us to camp with empty coffee cans to pick blackberries.  They are amazing when they’re still warm from the sun and freshly picked.  Just thinking about that makes me smile.

Anyway, the brownies I made for the occasion are blackberry brownies.  With a little bit of seedless blackberry preserves stirred in, you get a hint of blackberry in the middle of all that chocolate.  I broke up a dark chocolate bar on top of the brownie when it came out of the oven.  It melted in no time and I just spread the chocolate around.  Once it cooled, it went into the fridge until the chocolate had hardened up nicely and I’m proud to point out that I was even patient this time and got some nice cuts when I took it out of the pan.

Hope your birthday was great, Bea.  I love you!

Recipe:  Blackberry Brownies

1/2 c. unsalted butter

1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa

1 c. granulated sugar

1/4 c. seedless blackberry preserves

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 c. all-purpose flour

dark chocolate candy bar, optional  (I used Lindt Excellence Intense Dark 70% Cocoa)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease the bottom and sides of a 9″ square baking pan with cooking spray.  (I lined mine first for easy brownie removal.)

In a medium-sized saucepan, melt butter over low heat.  Stir in cocoa until well blended.  Stir in sugar.  Add blackberry preserves, vanilla, and beaten eggs; stir until thoroughly combined and smooth.  Add flour and stir until smooth.

Pour brownie mixture into baking pan.  Spread to even out mixture.  Bake for about 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted about 1″ from the edge comes out clean or until brownie starts to come away from the pan.  Transfer baking dish to a cooling rack and break up dark chocolate candy bar over the top of warm brownie.  Chocolate will melt quickly.  Spread chocolate over top of brownie and allow to cool completely.  When cool, move to refrigerator to help set the chocolate topping and for easier cutting.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 10:14 pm

    I know I’ll love it because you used 70% dark! Yum!

  2. bakingblonde permalink
    May 17, 2009 2:30 pm

    What an unusual flavor combination! Love to try it!

  3. May 17, 2009 9:46 pm

    Happy Birthday, Bea!

    Michelle if i was so exhausted I’d say I’d give these a try, I have blackberries in the fridge.

    Just got back to town!
    ~ingrid

  4. May 18, 2009 10:56 am

    goooood grief, those look decadent! so rich, and the fruitiness of the berries would be such a welcome contrast. amazing. :)

  5. May 18, 2009 5:19 pm

    Those look awesome. I love a hint of fruitiness like this in my chocolate.

Leave a Reply

