Skip to content

Bridezilla and my misadventures in wedding cakes

May 19, 2009

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you’ll know that I had been asked by a friend to bake cakes for her daughter’s wedding.  Six cakes.  Six different flavors.  Six different designs.  All white icing.  Those were Bridezilla’s requirements.

So I tested out a bunch of recipes until we were all sick of cake.  I gave it to the neighbors.  I sent Jim to friends’ homes with cake deliveries.  I took it to the library.

A week ago, I sat down with Bridezilla and her lovely mother and we talked about cake.  We were all on the same page.  Six two-layer cakes would serve as both centerpieces and wedding cake for the guests.  No problem.

Two days later, I got an email from Bridezilla saying she had some other flavors to run by me.  All brand new.  She’d also decided that tiers would be nice.  If I made all the cakes, her friend could assemble them into tiers.  She’d also like me to borrow a tilting turntable from this friend so I could put sanding sugars on the cakes.

Hm.  This is where the misadventure comes in.

This is also about the time she underwent a name change and became the infamous Bridezilla.

Oh.  One more thing.  She was considering not having the cakes on the tables at all, but just cutting them up and having a dessert buffet instead.

WHAT?!

So I very nicely reminded her that there were only two weeks left until her wedding.  We’ve got Memorial Day weekend thrown in there, where we are traveling to my parents’ for birthdays.  I also kindly explained that I wasn’t comfortable borrowing any equipment from someone I don’t know or handing over cakes to someone else to complete for me.  I reminded her what we had agreed upon just two days earlier and asked her to get back to me by Friday.

Friday rolls around and finally I hear from her asking me to be patient until Monday and she will have the details all worked out.

(I feel like I want the narrator on Sponge Bob here saying, “Three days later…”)

Fast forward to Monday.  Not a peep all day.  Nothing.  Nada.  At 9:00 Monday night, Bridezilla emailed me and said she thought it seemed too overwhelming for me to do the baking, with my plans for the weekend and everything.  And since this was just a hobby for me, she didn’t think I needed the stress.  She thinks it would be best to go with someone else, but she hoped their cake would be as delicious as mine.

WHAT?!

I got canned.  Fired.  Written off.  Her wedding is next week, and she thinks she wants to find someone else to bake her cake?  Oy.  This woman is 36 years old and she still doesn’t know what she wants to do for her wedding, which is in 10 days.

Her poor mom.  She doesn’t even know what to say.   And neither do I really.  Best wishes?  Let them eat cake?  Oh, right.  There won’t be any cake!  : )

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 11:30 pm

    Oh. My. Word.

    She ain’t gonna have no cake no sirree.

    You tried!

  2. Tracey permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:54 am

    Oh dear lord!

    Nope, they won’t be having cake (unless they hit the grocery store on the way!)

  3. apinchofthisandthat permalink
    May 20, 2009 3:12 am

    No cake for her! Just be glad you’re done with her and if she comes crawling back to you begging for cake when she comes to her senses say NO!

  4. May 20, 2009 3:12 am

    Well, darn! Man and I was really looking forward to wedding cake! Well, I got some great ideas from ya. It’s been a while since I made a layer cake.

    Sorry, I’ve been slacking in commenting. I have tried to keep up with the reading. Life kids, waaaaaaaaaay busy!
    ~ingrid

  5. May 20, 2009 3:48 am

    Uggggghhhhhhhh

    Oh god that sounds just so . . . ughhhhhhhh

    Despite all the time invested, you’re better off. And now you have new cakes in your repertoire?

  6. May 20, 2009 8:30 pm

    holy heck. i don’t know what i’d do…probably something even more passive agressive than bridezilla…like a nice back-handed compliment on her wedding dress…but that’s just me. :)

  7. peasepudding permalink
    May 21, 2009 8:56 am

    Now if you would like to travel to Liverpool in July you can do mine! As you can see from my Blog I haven’t been too organised but I’m not stressing, I thought it would be a good project for my Blog. Ssshhhh don’t tell mister hubby to be as he thinks I’m obsessed with my blog as it is.

  8. May 21, 2009 1:55 pm

    This person doesn’t know what she is missing!

    And I’m happy you brought one of the cakes to the library! :)

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 23, 2009 6:18 pm

    Thanks, everybody.
    I truly appreciate the support.
    You guys rock.

    – Michelle

Leave a Reply

