Skip to content

Wheat berry salad

May 19, 2009
tags:

Wheat berry Salad

I found this recipe at Epicurious, which is a site I visit often.  I’ve never cooked with wheat berries before and I didn’t even know what they tasted like before now.  This is a simple recipe as long as you have the time to boil the wheat berries for an hour.  My kitchen felt kind of like a sauna after all that time and I’m not sure I’m in love with the results.  The wheat is rather chewy, which is how it’s supposed to be, but I don’t know if I like that texture in a salad or not.  Jim liked it with the added chicken and tomatoes, but he wasn’t sold on eating it without the add-ins.

I also read in the recipe’s comments that many people tossed in some dried cranberries, so on day #2 I tried that.  The salad was chilled from being refrigerated and the cranberries added a nice sweet/tart flavor to the wheat berries.  I actually preferred it this way compared to the chicken and tomatoes.  But still…. I doubt that I’d go out and buy wheat berries again unless I can come up with another way to use them.

Recipe:  Wheat Berry Salad

2 c. dry wheat berries

3 tbsp. red wine vinegar

3/4 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

3 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil

1 small red onion, diced

1/2 c. chopped fresh dill

Cook wheat berries in a 4-quart pot of boiling water (not salted), uncovered, until tender, 1 to 1 1/4 hours. Drain in a large sieve and rinse under cold water to cool, then drain well.

Whisk together vinegar, salt, and pepper in a large bowl. Add oil in a slow stream, whisking until combined. Add wheat berries, onion, and dill and stir to coat well.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 10:15 am

    i love the texture of wheat berries, and this is a terrific salad! the healthy part is just a bonus. :)

  2. gail permalink
    May 20, 2009 6:17 pm

    Give wheatberries one more chance!
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/wheatberry-salad-recipe/index.html
    This recipe is wonderful and I have gotten so many requests for the recipe every time I make it. One great thing is that this recipe does really well as a “make-ahead” dish. I find that it is best at room-temperature.

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 23, 2009 6:19 pm

    Grace – I agree about the healthy part. That’s what we were going for too.

    Gail – I’ve bookmarked your link and I will try it again. Thank you!!

    – Michelle

Leave a Reply

