Skip to content

Three bean salad

May 20, 2009

Three Bean Salad

This is such a nice refreshing salad that just goes great with something from the grill.  It’s really healthy and has that tang of lemon that makes the whole thing pop.  It’s a mixture of fresh, frozen and canned beans, but you can be pretty flexible in using what you can find or what you already have.  I played with the amounts and didn’t really measure the beans – just eyeballed them.  This salad would be great for picnics too, because it’s served at room temperature and has no mayonnaise.

Recipe:  Three Bean Salad

(inspired by Epicurious)

3/4 lb. fresh green beans, washed and cut into bite-sized pieces

1 10-oz. can black eyed peas, rinsed and drained

8 oz. frozen edamame (soy beans without their pods) or lima beans

1/4 c. chopped red onion, or more to taste

juice of one large lemon  (Next time, I think I’m going to kick back the amts. of lemon juice and olive oil just a little bit.)

1/4 c. extra virgin olive oil

1/2 tsp. salt

freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.  Add green beans and cook for 5 minutes.  Remove green beans with a slotted spoon and place in an ice bath.  Add frozen edamame to boiling water and follow package directions to cook, about 4 minutes, then drain.  In the meantime, remove green beans from ice water.  In a bowl, whisk together lemon juice with salt and pepper.  Drizzle in olive oil until well combined.  Add black eyed peas, green beans, and edamame to dressing and stir.  Serve at room temperature.  (Can be made ahead and refrigerated, but allow to come back to room temperature before serving.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 8:31 pm

    yum. this looks like the perfect summer dish…so fresh and green!

  2. May 20, 2009 10:18 pm

    something I can actually make! love how simple the dressing sounds. Mmmm… I love tangy stuff–my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

  3. May 21, 2009 1:49 pm

    Oh! How perfect. When I saw the title Three Bean Salad, I thought of that horrible kidney, garbonzo, canned green bean mixture. But no! Yours is sooooo yummy! Thanks for sharing and helping to erase my image of that other three bean salad! :)

  4. May 21, 2009 7:16 pm

    So wonderfully simple! I find that I just love the flavor of lemon with edamame. And I am really excited about finding a great summer salad with no mayonnaise, since I can’t stand the stuff.

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 23, 2009 6:17 pm

    Cindy – It is a great summer dish. I think I’d lighten up the lemon a smidge next time though. I only decided that after making something similar that had a little less lemon juice in it.

    LS – LOL You crack me up.

    Foodlibrarian – I’m with you. That kidney bean thing. {shudder}

    Lisa – I agree – we really have grown to love that combination too.

    – Michelle

Leave a Reply

