Skip to content

Sky high triple chocolate fudge cake

May 21, 2009

I made this delicious three-layer cake to celebrate my birthday.   “The boys” had work and school today, so I volunteered to bake my own cake.  I didn’t mind a bit.  I got to pick out the flavor and I got to use my kitchen aid mixer.   (I really do love that thing.)   There was a question mark candle.  There was singing.  Then I got to eat a huge piece from the Happy Birthday plate.

I just got the book Sky High: Irresistible Triple Layer Cakes and have been eager to bake something from it.  I chose the Triple Chocolate Fudge Cake for today.  It even looked irresistible.

The only thing I would do differently next time is the mousse filling.  I had a tough time keeping it light and fluffy, so next time I’ll look for a different recipe for the white chocolate mousse.  Otherwise, it’s a great cake with great flavor and amazing presentation.  (My photo really comes no where close to doing this cake justice!)

Recipe:  Triple Chocolate Fudge Cake

(from the Sky High: Irresistible Triple Layer Cakes cookbook)

butter for greasing pans  (I sprayed my pans with cooking spray instead.)

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 1/2 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped

1 cup milk

1 1/4 cups hot, strongly brewed coffee

2 eggs

1 cup mayonnaise  (Do not substitute with light mayo.)

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 1/4 cups sugar

White Chocolate Mousse:

4 ounces white chocolate, coarsely chopped

1 cup heavy cream

1 egg white

1 tablespoon sugar

Sour Cream Chocolate Icing:

12 ounces bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, coarsely chopped  (I used a combination of bittersweet and semisweet chocolates because it’s what I had on hand.)

1 stick unsalted butter

2 tablespoons light corn syrup

1/4 cup half-and-half, at room temperature

1/2 cup sour cream, at room temperature

1. Heat oven to 350F. Butter bottom and sides of 3 (9-inch) cake pans. Line bottom of pans with parchment or wax paper. Butter top of linings.

2. For batter, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Put chopped chocolate in heat-proof bowl. Pour milk and coffee on top. Let stand 1 minute. Whisk until smooth. Let mixture cool slightly. With mixer, beat eggs, mayonnaise, and vanilla. Gradually beat in sugar. Add dry ingredients and coffee liquid alternately in 2 or 3 additions, beating until smooth. Divide batter among pans.Bake 25-28 minutes, or until pick inserted in center comes out clean. Let cakes cool in pans on wire racks 10-15 minutes. Unmold cakes. Peel off paper lining and cool completely, 1 hour.

3. For mousse, melt white chocolate with 1/4 cup cream, whisking until smooth. Remove from heat and cool to room temperature. Beat remaining 3/4 cup heavy cream until soft peaks form. Whip egg white with sugar until fairly stiff peaks form. Fold beaten egg white into white chocolate cream. Then fold in whipped cream.

4. For sour cream icing, melt chocolate with butter and corn syrup on very low heat. Remove from heat and whisk until smooth. Whisk in half-and-half and sour cream.

5. Place one cake layer flat-side up on cake stand. Cover top with half the mousse, leaving 1/4 -inch margin around edge. Repeat with second layer. Set third layer on top. Use enough of the icing to thinly cover top and sides. Don’t worry if cake shows through. This layer seals in crumbs. Refrigerate cake 30 minutes to set. Cover cake with remaining icing, swirling with back of spoon or offset spatula.

Recipe note: If icing becomes too soft, chill slightly. If icing becomes too stiff, microwave on high 2 or 3 seconds to soften, and then stir to mix well.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 4:01 pm

    Happy birthday to you! Happy birthday to you! Happy birthday dear Michelle! Happy birthday to youuuuuuuuu!

    Hope you have a fabulous day!
    ~ingrid

  2. May 22, 2009 11:54 pm

    I seriously said “Oohhhhhh!” outloud when I saw that picture, and don’t tell, but I might have lost a couple drops of drool in the process. Happy Birthday to you. Maybe one day I’ll get brave and try this recipe. Looks delish!

  3. Kimberly permalink
    June 1, 2010 4:47 pm

    HI There,
    I tried the cake recipe and never again will I have to search for another chocolate cake recipe. This is it, this one’s perfect. The color, texture, crumb and flavor are exactly what I want out of chocolate cake. I’m glad that I found your blog. Thanks for posting.

    Also, regarding your comment on the white chocolate mousse, check out this link. http://megan-deliciousdishings.blogspot.com/2010/04/triple-chocolate-mousse-cake.html

    It’s for a mousse cake featured in Cooks Illustrated. I happened to find this person’s blog and they did a beautiful job with it.

Leave a Reply

