Skip to content

Mini matchbook scrapbooks

May 22, 2009

Even though part of this blog was supposed to be about our crafty stuff, it’s really been taken over with my baking.  Not that that’s a bad thing, but I’ve got a friend who has hinted to me that she’d like to see some scrapbooking projects here now and then.  So, Diana, this is really for you.  I know it’s not a layout but it’s a fun project that I’ve done in lots of different ways.  You can really adapt it to any theme and use odd pieces of paper you might have laying around.  It’s a mini matchbook album.  The name really says it all.  It’s put together just like a matchbook would be.  You can use staples or brads or eyelets tied with ribbon to secure it together.  You can make it plain and simple, or you can really embellish it with stickers, rub-ons, buttons, etc.  Like I said… you can make it anything you want it to be.

Obviously, this one was a little scrapbook for someone who loves, loves, loves their dog.  Each little page was decorated with coordinating papers and stickers.  She loved it and I’d be willing to bet she carries it in her purse.

Let me show you a couple more covers and then I’ll give you the directions on how to make one if you are feeling crafty.  It’s really pretty fast as far as scrapbooking goes.  And they’re just darn cute.

Here’s what you need:

2 12×12 sheets of paper with coordinating patterns or colors (One will be the cover and one will be inside the cover.)

3.5×5″ pieces of paper  (These are for the actual pages you will be putting your photos on.  You can use regular patterned papers – double sided works great.  Or you could just use regular computer paper.  Cut as many of these pieces as you want pages in your album.)

paper trimmer

bone folder or scoring blade to make creases in cover

stapler, brads, or eyelets and ribbons

embellishments such as stickers, buttons, rub-ons, etc.

glue stick

Cut a 4×12″ strip from each of the papers you will be using to make your matchbook cover.  Glue together and let dry.  When dry, lay the long strip in front of you and score/crease it at the following intervals:  1 1/2″, 7 1/4″, and 7 1/2″.  This is the time to ink or distress the edges if you are want to.  I’m a big inker, so I always do that now.  Fold at the scored lines and set aside.  (You can see this fairly clearly in the photo of the inside of the Good Dog matchbook.)

Lay your 3.5×5″ pieces in front of you and lightly score each at 1 1/2″ from the left end so it’s easy to turn the pages in your album.  This is really an optional step – sometimes I do it and sometimes I don’t, depending on how thick my papers are.

Lay your cover in front of you with the inside facing up.  Insert your 3.5×5″ pages by sliding them under the small flap on the left.  Attach with stapler (or whatever method you choose), being sure to leave enough room so that when the cover is closed the flap can be secured like a matchbook.)

You did it.  Now you can fill it up with pictures to carry in your purse or give it to your little one to make her own scrapbook.  Have fun and please come back and let me know if you’ve tried it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 8:02 pm

    one of the scrapbook stores in my area closed not to long ago…i bought so much paper! i couldn’t help myself, it was 40, 50 and 60% off. i have yet to use any of it except for food photo backgrounds. i love scrapbook mini-books, these are just too darn cute!

  2. May 23, 2009 3:30 pm

    So there are photos in there, each backed with patterned paper? I like, very much. You are soooo creative. I would never have thought of this. I’ve tried to do a mini-book/mini-album here or there but I always abandon it and go back to regular 12×12 pages. But I’m sure I’ll do one and complete it soon.
    Please share more crafty stuff!

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 23, 2009 6:12 pm

    Cindy – I actually find that my scrapbooking papers have been used more for photo backgrounds than they have for layouts too! I’m glad I’m not the only one out there. : ) LOL

    LS – Thanks. If you try one, I hope you blog about it so I can see it. Yes, you can put pics on each little page. You just have to cut your pictures or reduce them though.

    – Michelle

Leave a Reply

