Skip to content

White chocolate brownies

May 26, 2009

I’m a recent convert to the joys of white chocolate.  I guess I just never had the real thing before.  Since I started reading labels and have tasted the real McCoy, I’ve been baking with it now and then.

I made these white chocolate brownies for book club tonight.  I like that they have two different chocolate flavors going on.  The white chocolate and the semi-sweet chips are a good contrast.

The brownies were supposed to be baked in an 8″ pan, but mine wasn’t handy so I used an 11×7″ pan instead.  That would have been just fine, but I didn’t adjust the baking time.  I baked these for only 25 minutes, but I got a cakey consistency instead of a gooey brownie.  Don’t get me wrong.  These are great.  I’ll definitely make them again, but next time I’ll cut the baking time a little so I get the texture I want.

Recipe:  White Chocolate Brownies

6 tablespoons unsalted butter

8 ounces white chocolate

2 eggs

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tablespoon vanilla

1 cup flour

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350, and grease and flour an 8″ square pan.  (I lined an 11×7″ baking pan with foil, and sprayed it with Bakers Joy spray.)

Melt butter and 4 oz of white chocolate (2/3 c.)  together in top of double boiler over hot water. When melted, remove from heat and add the remaining white chocolate. Stir to blend well. Set aside.

Beat the eggs and sugar until pale and thick.  Add white chocolate and butter mixture, vanilla, and flour. Beat just until smooth. Add chocolate chips and stir with a wooden spoon.  Do not overmix.

Pour into prepared pan and bake 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack. Cut into squares.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2009 2:57 pm

    These are VERY good and like yourself actually enjoy the chocolate chips in them. I also make them in the 11×7 pan and mine always seem to come out on the cakey side even cutting back on the time! Great minds! :) Not sure of this is the same recipe but the one I use is from Ghirardelli, inside they’re wrapper.
    ~ingrid

  2. May 26, 2009 8:22 pm

    These look great! I’m a big fan of white chocolate, so these are the perfect brownie for me.

  3. May 27, 2009 11:28 am

    finally, white chocolate gets its moment in the spotlight. i love the stuff, so i think these are terrific!

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 29, 2009 9:26 pm

    Ingrid – Weird that yours didn’t turn out brownie-ish either. Hmm.

    Lisaiscooking – I’ve become a white chocolate fan too, and these really were good even if they weren’t the texture I was going for.

    Grace – I’ll have to check out your recipes for some white chocolate goodies then!

    – Michelle

Leave a Reply

