Skip to content

Chocolate chip cookie dough dip

May 27, 2009

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

Ooo La La.

That just about sums it up.  If you prefer eating your chocolate chip cookies while they are still in their natural state, a.k.a. cookie dough, then this dip is right up your alley.

As it turned out, the white chocolate brownies were just not brownie-like enough for me to take them to book club.  I’m one of those really annoying perfectionist types.  Plus, Sam liked them so much that he made quite a dent in them after school.  That’s okay though.  This dip took only a couple minutes to make and the results are wonderful.

I really wanted to take a great treat to the library, because this month’s book selection was less than popular.  I figured at least we’d have something tasty to nibble on while we tore the book to pieces.  More on that in another post though.

Back to this dip.  I found the recipe at Brown Eyed Baker.  I’d hug her if I could.  I will definitely be making it again and again.  And again.  I served this with honey graham crackers, chocolate graham crackers, and vanilla wafers.  All tasted great with the dip.  Make yourself some soon.  Bet you’ll love it.

Recipe:  Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 (8-oz) pkg cream cheese

1/2 cup powdered sugar

3/4 cup semisweet mini chocolate chips

In a small saucepan, melt the butter with the brown sugar over low/medium heat.  Stir continuously, until the brown sugar dissolves and the mixture comes together.  Remove from heat, whisk in vanilla extract and set aside to cool down.

Beat the cream cheese and powdered sugar for 1 minute, scraping bowl as needed.  Slowly beat in the cooled butter mixture and beat again for 1 minute, until smooth.

Stir in chocolate chips with a wooden spoon.  Spoon into serving bowl and serve with graham crackers or vanilla wafers.

Refrigerate until about 20 minutes before serving.  Allow dip to soften up at room temperature so it will be a soft consistency when you’re ready to serve.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2009 2:10 pm

    I would hug you too for posting this. It looks fab. What a new twist on cookies! Awesome!

  2. May 27, 2009 4:07 pm

    What I love about your site is that I can always count on you to bring forth something yummy and delicious into my life. Yes, raw cookie dough is totally up my alley!

    Enjoyed your post about the ‘real’ story behind your recent family visit, and also the video. I love that quote.

  3. May 27, 2009 4:21 pm

    Chocolate chip cookie dough dip??? Absolutely life-changing :P Thanks for sharing!

  4. May 27, 2009 5:48 pm

    This is so cool! My kids would love this!!!

  5. May 27, 2009 8:09 pm

    Oh, YES! Babygirl and I are all about the cookie dough! **hugs** to you for sharing, Michelle!
    ~ingrid

  6. May 27, 2009 11:57 pm

    Pure heaven in a bowl right there. Will have to make this one for my family. They would love it. Looks creamier than the chocolate chip cookie dough balls, so I will make this recipe!

  7. May 28, 2009 12:24 pm

    are you kidding me right now?? good googa mooga. i can NEVER make this–it’d be completely consumed by me and no one else in record time. how phenomenal.

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:39 pm

    LOL
    I’m loving all this blog love.
    This dip is such a treat. I hope you all try it!

    – Michelle

  9. May 28, 2009 4:47 pm

    Wow, how decadent. I would expect to see miss paula deen making this one. YUM!!

  10. May 28, 2009 6:58 pm

    Ahahahah! This is so funny and cool!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 29, 2009 9:25 pm

    Sara – Oh my! My mom would be tickled to hear that comparison. : )

    Clumbsycookie – And don’t forget delicious!!

    – Michelle

  12. May 30, 2009 8:11 pm

    Woah, spreadable cookies? Yes, please! What a decadent dip!

  13. July 20, 2009 3:41 am

    This would be so great for a party! I can’t believe how perfect it sounds!

  14. Dani permalink
    December 27, 2009 1:52 am

    I made this dip for my annual Christmas Tureen at school. I served it with mini vanilla wafers. It was great. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. Tasted just like cookie dough!

  15. theycallmered permalink
    June 1, 2011 1:25 pm

    Great recipe! My friends loved it! Mine came out a bit more caramel colored than yours did.

  16. Judy permalink
    August 20, 2013 9:13 pm

    :Had a surprise birthday party and loved it!!

Leave a Reply

