Skip to content

Stewed lentils and tomatoes

May 28, 2009

Stewed Lentils and Tomatoes

I was looking through Ina Garten’s Barefoot Contessa at Home and this recipe caught my eye.  We’ve tried a few different lentil recipes in the past few months so I always seem to have them in the pantry.  My dish definitely had more “juice” than the picture in the cookbook.  I can’t figure that one out, since I followed the cooking directions to a T.  The flavor was delicious.  I have to confess though, that I hate eating chunky things, so that was a turn-off for me.  I want to try the recipe again, but next time I’m going to dice things up instead of rough-chopping them.  It will definitely appeal to me more that way, but Jim liked it a lot just the way it is.

Recipe:  Stewed Lentils and Tomatoes

(slightly adapted from Barefoot Contessa at Home by Ina Garten)

2 tsp. olive oil

2  large-diced yellow onions

2 c. large-diced carrrots  (3-4 carrots)

2 celery stalks  (my addition, since I had some on hand)

3 cloves garlic, diced

1 28-oz. can whole plum tomatoes

1 c. green lentils

2 c. chicken stock  (I used broth out of a carton.)

2 tsp. mild curry powder

2 tsp. chopped fresh thyme leaves

2 tsp. kosher salt

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

1 Tbsp. red wine vinegar  (Sometimes I remember to do this, sometimes I don’t.)

Heat oil in a large saucepan.  Add onions, carrots, and celery; cook over medium-low heat for 8-10 minutes, until the onions start to brown.  Stir occasionally.  Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.

Meanwhile, place the canned tomatoes, including the juice, in a food processor and pulse to coarsely chop.  Rinse and pick over the lentils.

Add the tomatoes, lentils, chicken broth, curry powder, thyme, salt, and pepper to the pan.  Raise the heat to bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer covered for about 40 minutes, until the lentils are tender.  Remove from heat and allow lentils to sit uncovered for another 10 minutes.  Add the vinegar, season to taste, and serve hot.  Serves 6-8.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 10:15 am

    suddenly, i’m almost glad it’s still getting down to the 40s here in ny–this is a perfect body-warming dish. hearty and delicious–nicely done!

  2. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 29, 2009 6:20 pm

    Grace – I’m getting the same nutty weather here in PA. And this dish really is a hearty, cold weather sort of dish. It’ll be a regular when Fall rolls around for sure.

    – Michelle

  3. June 20, 2010 10:03 am

    You have a great website!
    Stewed looks very ital.

Leave a Reply

