Skip to content

Cherry sorbet

May 30, 2009

I saw this recipe in the June issue of Woman’s Day magazine and as soon as I saw the picture, I knew I had to try to make it.  Chocolate covered cherries are something that always remind me of my grandma.  She used to get them when we were kids and I always thought they were such a grown-up kind of candy.  This dessert is a fun twist on the original flavors.

Cherry Sorbet

Recipe:  Cherry Sorbet

(adapted from Women’s Day)

1 1-lb. bag frozen red cherries, thawed

2/3 c. sugar

1/4 c. light corn syrup

hard shell chocolate ice cream topping

whole cherries, pitted or maraschino cherries for garnish

Puree cherries in blender with sugar and corn syrup; refrigerate mixture until cold, about 1 hour.  Pour mixture into an ice cream machine; freezing according to manufacturer’s directions.  (I just mixed the heck out of the mixture while it was in the blender, chilled it for an hour in the fridge, then transferred it to the freezer.   It was perfect.) Once frozen, scoop out some sorbet, top it with a little hard shell chocolate sauce, and quickly perch a cherry on top before it hardens.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 4:08 am

    Well now I know what I am going to do with the bag of cherries I found in my freezer this morning. Thanks!

  2. May 31, 2009 4:28 pm

    what a GORGEOUS hue! topping it with chocolate is most definitely a stroke of genius. :)

Leave a Reply

